Comparative Literature

American Film Scripts makes available accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Most of the scripts have never been published before, and nowhere else are they available online. Alexander Street Press has developed the collection through arrangements with Warner Bros., Sony, RKO, MGM, and other major film studios; rights holders such as Faber & Faber, Newmarket Press, Penguin Putnam, and Vintage Anchor; and the writers themselves, including Paul Schrader, Lawrence Kasdan, Gus Van Sant, Neil LaBute, Oliver Stone, and many others. The collection includes 1,000 film scripts, and extends back to the earliest silent films to the present. The collection’s powerful search structure includes searching by character, scene, race, nationality, age, subject, year of writing, and other elements.

Includes the Tresor de la Langue Francaise (over 2600 texts, ranging from classic works to non-fiction prose and technical writing.) Also included is the Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (OVI) ? containing 1780 vernacular texts dated prior to 1375, including Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio. Reference sources include Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopdie, as well as a number of historical French dictionaries (Nicot, Fraud, Littr, Bayle, and several editions of the Dictionnaire de L'Acadmie franaise.)

1473-1700. Fulltext. Virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Contains more than 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions. Subject areas include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.

Early Modern Books covers material from the British Isles and Europe for the period 1450-1700. An integrated search across both Early English Books Online and Early European Books allows scholars to view materials from over 225 source libraries worldwide.

Provides access and simultaneous cross searching of six Gale primary source databases: The 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, The Making of the Modern World, The Times Digital Archive, Sabin Americana, 1500-1926, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, and Witchcraft in Europe and America (Archives Unbound). Gale Primary Sources also allows researchers to visualize search data by term frequency. Researchers can search all six databases at once using this portal, or access each individually by visiting the appropriate page in the A-Z list.

Gallica digital library from the Bibliothèque nationale de France. Over a million documents accessible for free : Books, Manuscripts, Maps, Images, Newspapers, Magazines, Periodicals, Sound records, Music, Scores, etc.

This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.

The HistoryMakers was founded to address the lack of documentation and preservation of the African American historical record. It captures – one person at a time – the untold personal stories of both well-known and unsung African Americans, and by creating a priceless video collection giving those involved their special place in history.

The testimonies captured in The HistoryMakers Collection – conducted in homes and offices across the United States and abroad – reveal the broad scope of narratives of African American men and women who have made significant contributions to American life, history, and culture during the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries.

1280-present. Fulltext. Fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, from 1280 to the present day. Also contains 333 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. With all 38 of Shakespeare's plays in dramatised audio recordings and nearly 900 Poets on Screen filmed readings.

Colonial-1950. Fulltext primary sources. The experiences of 1,325 women in 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources.

Fulltext and citations. Indexes more than 2,700 collections of Oral History in English from around the world. Contains almost 281,000 pages of full-text by close to 10,000 individuals from all walks of life. Also has pointers to 4,100 audio and video files.

Including documents from the collections: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle, Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War, American Indians and the American West, American Politics and Society, International Relations and Military Conflicts, Revolutionary War and Early America, Women's Studies, Workers, Labor Unions, and Radical Politics

Women and Social Movements, International is a landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.

Coverage varies. Free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. A digital record of American history and creativity. From the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions.

Brings together the collections of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.

Access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format; includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages