Clinical Laboratory Sciences

Clinical Chemistry considers what happens to the body's chemistry when affected by disease. It provides introductory coverage of the scientific basis for biochemistry tests routinely used in medicine - including tests for the assessment of organ function, diagnosis and monitoring disease activity and therapy efficacy. Each topic area begins with a concise description of the underlying physiological and biochemical principles and then applies them to patient investigation and management. The regular use of case histories helps further emphasise clinical relevance and chapter key points, as well as provide a useful starting point for examination revision. The clear and engaging writing style appreciated by generations of readers has been retained in this latest (ninth) edition, while the content has been thoroughly updated throughout. The approach and scope of this trusted text makes it ideal for integrated medical curricula, for medical training and for students and practitioners of clinical and biomedical science. The complementary eBook version (with the printed book), including additional cases and self-assessment material, completes this superb learning package. Updated to incorporate the latest changes in practice - including new tests and the most recent evidence-based guidance 'Light bulb' sections give practical advice and clarify difficult concepts or potential pitfalls New 'Red flag' boxes highlight the results which should cause immediate concern to clinicians Updated references to core guidelines reflect latest best practice (Print) includes complete, downloadable eBook on Student Consult Also BONUS materials - interactive clinical cases and MCQs - to reinforce interpretive skills, check understanding and aid exam preparation Updated to incorporate the latest changes in practice - including new tests and the most recent evidence-based guidance - plus a new chapter on clinical chemistry in pediatrics. Figures, tables, boxes, and case studies aid understanding and learning. 'Light bulb' sections give practical advice and clarify difficult concepts or potential pitfalls. New 'Red flag' boxes highlight the results which should cause immediate concern to clinicians. Updated references to core guidelines reflect latest best practice. BONUS materials on Student Consult include interactive clinical cases and MCQs - to reinforce interpretive skills, check understanding and aid exam preparation. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Fast Find: Lab and Dx--The complete F.A. Davis Lab & Diagnostic Test database online U.S. and Canadian content Searchable and printable Mobile and tablet friendly "Potential Nursing Problems" tables within many studies that present problems, signs and symptoms, and interventions related to the study 'Common Use' for each monograph to provide an at-a-glance description of what the test is for, presented in everyday language that patients will understand Monographs that focus on what you need to do before, during, and after each laboratory and diagnostic test, including... Patient Teaching Detailed coverage of patient safety "Sensitivity to Social and Cultural Issues" and "Nutritional Considerations," where appropriate Diagnostic imaging monographs with explanations of the reasons for the test result Pathophysiology information that explains why a lab test result is increased or decreased Reference Ranges that are expressed in both conventional and SI units (with the SI unit conversion factor) and include age- and gender-specific variations when indicated and normal variations due to cultural considerations Interfering Factors, including food, natural products, timing of test, handling of specimen, underlying patient conditions, and drugs that may interfere with the results of the test Unique coverage of laboratory and diagnostic tests for subspecialties, such as maternity, therapeutic drug monitoring, nutrition and sensory Cross referencing of related lab and diagnostic tests in every monograph "Body System" appendix that includes therapeutic drug monitoring and toxicology as well as nutrition-related lab tests