Pharmacology Resources for Medical Students

AccessMedicine provides practice quizzes and flashcards to help you study pharmacology. To access these resources, you must create a free account.

Here are the instructions for accessing these tools once are logged in:

1) Review Questions/Practice Quiz
-Select the drop down arrow next to "Study Tools" at the top of the homepage.
-Select "Review Questions"
-Select "Clinical Practice & Board Review"
-Select Katzung & Trevor's Pharmacology
-Enter the number of questions you would like from each chapter in the box next to it
-Select "Start Quiz"

2) Flash Cards:
-Select the drop down arrow next to "Study Tools" at the top of the homepage.
-Select "Flashcards"
-Scroll down and select "Pharmacology Flashcards, 4e"

The Case Files® Collection features the complete collection of basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files® series books in an interactive format to help students learn and retain knowledge through exposure to realistic patient cases. Personalized functionality lets users mark their progress through completed and unseen cases. To access pharmacology cases, select the "Case Files Pharmacology" icon on the homepage.

Due to the interactive nature of this Collection, users will need to create a MyAccess account. If you do not already have a MyAccess account, one can be created by clicking the dropdown menu in the upper righthand corner where it says “Stony Brook University” and clicking on “Sign-In or Create a Free MyAccess Profile” and then choose “Don’t Have a MyAccess Account?”. Once created, you can use this username/password to access the Case Files Collection remotely and can track your Case History.

BoardVitals contains question banks to help prepare students and clinicians for professional exams, such as the USMLE and SHELF exams. Students can practice answering pharmacology questions by selecting a specific test, then selecting "pharmacology" as the topic.

Stat!Ref contains Pharmacology World, which provides a series of pharmacology lecture videos including narration and illustrations. After entering Stat!Ref, Pharmacology World can be found under "Titles," on the left hand side of the page. It is the second title from the bottom.