Latin

Latin is alive and well. Beginning in Rome around 600 BC Latin became the language of the civilized world and remained so for over two millennia. French, Spanish, Italian, and Romanian are among its progeny and it still provides the international vocabulary of law and life science. No knownlanguage, including English - itself enriched by Latin words and phrases - has achieved such success and longevity. Tore Janson tells its history from origins to the present. Brilliantly conceived and written with the same light touch as Speak, his bestselling history of languages, A Natural Historyof Latin is a masterpiece of adroit synthesis.The author charts the expansion in the classical world, its renewed importance in the Middle Ages, and its survival into modern times. He shows its central role in European history and culture and, by judicious quotation of phrases and texts, describes how spoken and written Latin changed andevolved differently in different places. He ends with a summary of Latin grammar and lists of Latin words and of phrases still in common use.Considered elitist and irrelevant in the second half of the twentieth century and often banned from schools, Latin is now enjoying a huge revival of interest and a renaissance in schools across Europe, the UK, and the USA. Tore Janson offers persuasive arguments for its value and direct access toits fascinating worlds, past and present.

A Companion to Latin Literature gives an authoritative account of Latin literature from its beginnings in the third century BC through to the end of the second century AD. Provides expert overview of the main periods of Latin literary history, major genres, and key themes Covers all the major Latin works of prose and poetry, from Ennius to Augustine, including Lucretius, Cicero, Catullus, Livy, Vergil, Seneca, and Apuleius Includes invaluable reference material - dictionary entries on authors, chronological chart of political and literary history, and an annotated bibliography Serves as both a discursive literary history and a general reference book

The Latin language is popularly imagined in a number of specific ways: as a masculine language, an imperial language, a classical language, a dead language. This book considers the sources of these metaphors and analyzes their effect on how Latin literature is read. By reading with and more commonly against these metaphors, the book offers a different view of Latin as a language and as a vehicle for cultural practice. The argument ranges over a variety of texts in Latin and texts about Latin from antiquity to the twentieth century.

Latin is the language not only of numerous Arthurian chronicles - including the most important of all, Geoffrey of Monmouth's Historia regum Britannie - but also of a small number of important but largely neglected romancesconcerning Arthur and his knights. Several of these romances clearly take their inspiration from the chronicle tradition, and their authors sometimes join romance adventures with actual events and characters (such as Henry II) inorder to give the appearance of history to Arthurian fiction. Ranging in date from the late twelfth to the fourteenth century, these romances include De ortu Waluuanii (in which Gawain defeats the Persian champion for thepeace of Jerusalem), Historia Meriadoci, Arthur and Gorlagon, and Draco Normannicus. These four texts are presented here in facing text and translation, and accompanied by a thorough introduction and extensive notes.

This text makes use of contemporary work in linguistics to provide up-to-date commentary on the development of Latin, from its prehistoric origins in the Indo-European language family, through the earliest texts, to the creation of the Classical Language of Cicero and Vergil, and examines the impact of the spread of spoken Latin through the Roman Empire. The first book in English in more than 50 years to provide comprehensive coverage of the history of the Latin language Gives a full account of the transformation of the language in the context of the rise and fall of Ancient Rome Presents up-to-date commentary on the key linguistic issues Makes use of carefully selected texts, many of which have only recently come to light Includes maps and glossary as well as fully translated and annotated sample texts that illustrate the different stages of the language Accessible to readers without a formal knowledge of Latin or linguistics

For almost three centuries, Latin dominated the civic and sacred worlds of Europe and, arguably, the entire western world. From the moment in the sixteenth century when it was adopted by the Humanists as the official language for schools and by the Catholic Church as the common liturgical language, it was the way in which millions of children were taught, people prayed to God, and scholars were educated. Francoise Waquet's history of Latin between the sixteenth and twentieth centuries is a highly original and accessible exploration of the institutional contexts in which the language was adopted. It goes on to consider what this conferring of power and influence on Latin meant in practice. Among the questions Waquet investigates are: What privileges were, and are still, accorded to those who claim to have studied Latin? Can Latin as a subject for study be anything more than purely linguistic or does it reveal a far more complex heritage? Has Latin's deeply embedded cultural legacy already given way to a nostalgic exoticism? Latin: A Symbol's Empire is a valuable work of reference, but also an important piece of cultural history: the story of a language that became a symbol with its own, highly significant empire.

The first study that focuses on the extent of the knowledge of Latin and Roman culture by Post-Byzantine scholars (15th-19th cent.) This volume aims at filling a major gap in international literature concerning the knowledge of the Latin language and literature by Post-Byzantine scholars from the fifteenth to the nineteenth centuries.