Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Film, Television, and other Video Recordings
Kanopy Streaming Service
A repository of streaming films supporting research and teaching in the arts and humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, health sciences, and technical fields. Content includes documentaries, training videos, and foreign language material.
Swank Streaming Videos
On-demand streaming video by subscription.
HD-quality contemporary performance films of the best new works by current leaders in Dance, Theatre, Music and other forms that defy categorization – all available for streaming, download or mobile viewing. Filmed at On the Boards, as well as peer theaters across the country, each full-length work is shot and edited with 4-5 high-definition cameras and edited collaboratively with the artists. The collection focuses on international innovators and regional artists, including works by artists who are rarely seen in the U.S. and works that will never be performed again.
Music Online: Opera in Video
Opera in Video will contain over 200 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews and documentaries. Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon.
60 Minutes: 1997-2014
The 60 MINUTES: 1997-2014 online collection provides 350 hours of high-definition video from television's most preeminent news program, including hundreds of segments not available anywhere else in the world. This resource also includes 175 hours of bonus segments from the popular CBS News program Sunday Morning.
Alexander Street Streaming Video
A repository of streaming films to support research and teaching in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Access note: SBU does not have access to videos labeled as "Sample" titles
Theatre in Video
Full-Text. More than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries, online in streaming video. From the most important productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage focusing on the work of Samuel Beckett, with performances by leading actors and directors. Allows researchers to find the full text of a play, the history of its performance, the production background, reference materials and ephemera, and now the complete performance itself. Ability to bookmark specific scenes, monologues, and staging examples and then include those online links in papers and course reserves.
Music and other Audio Recordings
Naxos Music Library
2004-present. Listen to over 170,000 tracks (11,500 CDs) from the Naxos and Marco Polo catalogs, plus other independent labels. Selections are principally from the area of classical music, as well as from jazz, blues, world, and Chinese music. Browser must be set to allow cookies for access to this database.
Internet Archive: Audio Archive
Archive of over 10 million audio recordings, including music, podcasts, radio shows, and more.
Free online music streaming service featuring everything from Brazilian to K-Pop to Nordic folk songs.
Features music and podcasts.
Features thousands of active podcasts.