Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Stony Brook University

Stony Brook University Library Strategic Design 2015 - 2018, Special Collections & University Archives

Mission

Special Collections and University Archives is committed to providing excellent research experiences and opportunities. Through the acquisition and preservation of diverse collections, and its comprehensive reference and outreach services, the department enriches the educational, scholarly, and entrepreneurial endeavors of Stony Brook University. Access is open and universal, to elevate the university's leadership role in scholarship, economic growth, technology and culture.

Vision

To cultivate learning, inspire discovery, and advance research through the acquisition and preservation of distinctive and renowned library collections.

Special Collections and University Archives aspires to be:

  • An integral and strategic partner in realizing Stony Brook University's five-part mission.

  • An internationally-recognized repository of exceptional research collections.

  • A premier library documenting Long Island's heritage.

Guiding Principles with Goals

Promote Academic Engagement

Empower and engage students with learning opportunities, in fulfillment of the “Experiential Learning (EXP+)” component of The Stony Brook Curriculum (SBC).

  • Develop a formal experiential learning contract and serve as an academic mentor to Stony Brook University students. (fall 2016)

Partner on projects that foster community spirit and pride.

  • Collaborate with the Office of Communications, Alumni Association, and Office of Student Affairs on promotional initiatives. (fall 2016)

Promote to teaching faculty the integration of collections in course assignments.

  • Using SBU Class Find, identify and target faculty teaching content related to collecting areas. Notify and encourage faculty to publicize specific resources to students. (spring 2016)

Utilize online and social media platforms to highlight collections, programs and services.

  • Establish an Instagram account; contribute content to the University Libraries’ Facebook page; develop online exhibits; continue to contribute content to the “Library News” website. (fall 2016)

Host and participate at programs for the university and surrounding communities.

  • Partner with university departments and community organizations on programs, including the History Department, the Wang Center, the Confucius Institute, and the Three Village Historical Society; sponsor tours during New York Archives Week (October 14-21, 2015) and academic semesters. (fall 2016)

 

Build, Preserve and Provide Access to Rich and Diverse Collections

Develop a plan to establish an open stacks Long Island Collection.

  • Assess collections across all library locations; identify service and space requirements. (spring 2017)

Recommend and select content for digitization initiatives.

  • Advise on the selection of collections for digitization projects based on rarity, usage and preservation factors. (fall 2016)

Acquire, process, and catalog collections that document Long Island.

  • Actively collect and make accessible papers, maps, and books related to Long Island. (fall 2016)

Establish project-based workflows with library departments to ensure the discoverability of collections.

  • Partner with Resource Management and IT to produce and display high level, enhanced MARC records, to increase discoverability in the EDS, WorldCat, and ArchiveGrid (fall 2016).

Embark on a comprehensive collection assessment of the University Archives.

  • Inventory legacy records and collections. (spring 2017)

 

Develop Responsive Library Spaces for Diverse Communities

Utilize library spaces to exhibit collections.

  • Install exhibition in the Javits Room. (spring 2016)

Explore external venues to hold events and promote collections.

  • Partner with university departments, local museums and community organizations on educational programming and events. (spring 2017)

Continue to expand online content.

  • Add finding aids to the department website as collections are processed; develop online exhibitions (fall 2016).

 

Foster an Innovative Culture of Learning and Assessment

Maintain currency with archival standards/best practices and with literature relevant to curatorial areas.

  • View professional webinars; attend annual, regional archives conference. (fall 2016)