Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Stony Brook University

Stony Brook University Library Strategic Design 2015 - 2018, Library Technology

Mission

The Library Information Technology department supports the mission of the University Libraries by providing robust technology to facilitate search, discovery, and access to knowledge; by producing open access scholarly collections through digitization and repository services; by enhancing productivity through reliable enterprise systems; and by exploring innovative initiatives for advancement. 

Vision

Library Information Technology department will provide the technology systems, tools, expertise and services to advance Stony Brook University Libraries as a leading research library.

Guiding Principles with Goals

Promote Academic Engagement​
Aggressively promote and support open access as the preferred mode of scholarly communication. Engage faculty, researchers, clinicians, and students in all facets of open access.

  • Lead efforts for university wide adoption of a faculty open access policy by fall 2015.
    • Enter update for goal here
  • Launch the Center for Scholarly Communication by fall 2015.  Host workshops and other events to promote awareness of open access initiatives and mandates.
    • Enter update for goal here
  • Implement a scholarly repository to collect, organize, manage, and share scholarly output at Stony Brook  University.
    • Enter update for goal here
  • Implement a data repository to acquire, disseminate, and preserve research data.
  • Collaborate with Library Liaisons group to promote and encourage faculty participation in open access initiatives.

Provide technology tools and expertise to support multiple modes of teaching and learning.

  • Support faculty needs to embed library resources into learning management systems.  Explore and implement new tools to streamline the process of embedding library resources and services into learning management systems (for example, EBSCO’s Curriculum Builder).
  • Encourage and support librarians to develop more dynamic and interactive online teaching tools (tutorials, research guides, mobile apps, chat, etc.).
  • Develop the Library’s presence in the mobile environment; explore emerging technologies that can be used to enhance teaching and learning of library’s resources.

Outreach to faculty to increase their awareness of library resources and services, and develop their skills on integrating these resources and services into teaching and research.

  • Identify and offer faculty workshops on library technology.
  • Actively participate in new faculty orientation; ensure that new faculty are on board with library technology.
  • Provide technology support for faculty using library resources for unique and innovative teaching and research.
  • Explore partnerships with academic units to establish digital centers that integrate the use of special collections, such as Digital Humanities and Digital Music Labs.

 

Build, Preserve, and Provide Access to Rich and Diverse Collections
Promote, foster, and support open access to SBU’s intellectual content and unique collections.

  • Deploy a scholarly repository by fall 2015.  Develop policies and procedures for the repository, and promote and encourage faculty to deposit scholarly works.
  • Continue to develop the institutional repository to facilitate access to university archives and special collections.  Upgrade IR platform by spring 2016. 
  • Build expertise and implement technological platform to collect, manage, and preserve SBU’s research data; have an established data repository by 2016.
  • Solicit, acquire, and manage projects to digitize special collections and reformat multimedia content for online delivery.  Seek external funding to support digital projects.  Facilitate access to born digital content.

Enhance discoverability and increase awareness of all collections.

  • Provide reliable and efficient search tools for optimal user experience.  Support ERMS group to update EBSCO discovery tool to better align with OPAC, databases, and repositories.
  • Promote collections through website, social media, and digital signage.  Develop digital exhibits to promote special collections; launch digital exhibit platform (Omeka) in fall 2015.
  • Foster the development of new tools to enhance information research, such as mobile apps, bookmarklet, research guides, etc.
  • Seek partnerships with other institutions to share and promote collections.  Participate as active members with open repositories and digital collection gateways.

Facilitate access to appropriate technologies for Library faculty and staff to build, assess, and preserve collections.

  • Provide a library management system that’s modern, robust, and meet the needs of Library staff to acquire, describe, and enhance discoverability of collections.
  • Streamline collection data extraction and report generation processes to better meet demands. Increase number of staff with skill set to collect, analyze, and interpret data.  Implement and support collection analysis tools.
  • Provide and support technology needs for preservation of collections.

 

Develop Responsive Library Spaces for Diverse Communities
Embed an array of technology into physical spaces to create the 21st century library that meets the demands of a diverse user population.

  • Align technology with physical spaces and furnishing to support Bring Your Own Device (BYOD). Provide adequate resources, such as power outlets, charging stations, and robust wi-fi to sustain and encourage the use of personal devices.
  • Create technology enriched study spaces and group study rooms to support collaborative learning and social networking. 
  • Foster engaged learning by creating Active Learning Spaces; allow for experimentation with innovative products.
  • Ensure availability of assistive and adaptive technology for users who require them. 

Improve and expand virtual spaces to bring the library to its users.

  • Develop and maintain a dynamic website that serves as a virtual gateway to the Libraries.
  • Support library faculty on embedding resources and services into the university’s learning management system.
  • Continue to develop the Libraries’ presence in mobile and web 2.0 environments.
  • Facilitate testing and integration of emerging technologies into library spaces to meet user needs.
  • Sustain a digital infrastructure that’s easily adaptable to changing technologies, users research needs, and disruptive innovations.

Create new and develop existing technology spaces to enable faculty and staff to carry out the mission and goals of the Library.

  • Communicate upgrades and enhancements for library classrooms to appropriate campus IT units.
  • Complete implementation of the Center for Scholarly Communication by fall 2015.  Promote and use the Center for library workshops, events, and in-house staff development activities.
  • Establish the current digital lab as a Digital Production Center to move forward the Library’s digitization efforts as a core operation and essential service.
  • Ensure that staff work spaces are equipped with access to adequate hardware and software.

 

Foster an Innovative Culture of Learning and Assessment
Support and encourage an organizational culture that foster technology as a necessary part of the job.

  • Provide ongoing staff training on library technology.
  • Implement a reliable and efficient support system for staff related technology issues.  Establish a help ticketing system by 2016 to add to the channels of communicating library IT issues. Streamline and foster open communication among various campus IT units to facilitate timely and responsive support. 
  • Facilitate and provide appropriate technology to support professional development activities and events such as forums, symposia, etc.
  • Deliver tools that enhance library faculty and staff communication, collaboration, and information dissemination. Develop, promote and train staff on use of StaffWeb or similar intranet.  

Investigate, test, implement and train staff on new and innovative technologies.

  • Encourage Library faculty and staff participation on technology planning, implementation, and assessment process.
  • Investigate and deploy systems that achieve efficient and cost-effective work processes. Enhance/upgrade current library management system (Aleph) with more standardized and consolidated workflow processes among all Library units.

Actively collaborate and participate with leading organizations and other research libraries to maximize these relationships.

  • Exchange ideas with peer institutions through ongoing collaboration.
  • Explore new memberships and continue to be active members with open source organizations.
  • Foster partnerships with digital collections gateways such as DPLA and NY Heritage.

Support a climate of assessment with appropriate technology tools.

  • Provide and/or assist with technology platforms to design and deliver assessment tools, such as Blackboard, Qualtrics, SurveyMonkey, and collection analysis tools.
  • Work with all library units on creative and efficient methods for data gathering and analysis.