Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Stony Brook University

Stony Brook University Library Strategic Design 2015 - 2018, Cataloging & Metadata

Mission

Contribute to the intellectual infrastructure by building and maintaining the tools necessary for discovery of and access to rich and diverse collections in support of the university’s teaching, research and outreach missions. Collaborate with the university community by creating the metadata that provides global recognition of the intellectual and creative output of Stony Brook University.

Vision

Develop expertise in metadata standards and applications to serve as a campus resource for digitization projects and the university's institutional repository to make the library an integral and vital partner in the university's research endeavor.

Guiding Principles with Goals

Promote Academic Engagement

Provide advice, training and instruction on metadata, controlled vocabularies, authority control, etc. to faculty and students to assist them in planning digitization projects.

  • Develop a Cataloging/Metadata web page that would include a description of services provided to the library, faculty and students.
  • Work with Serials and Electronic Resource Management to develop a Resource Management web page.
  • Work with subject liaisons to make faculty aware of the importance of accurate metadata and standards in implementing a digitization project.

Collaborate directly with faculty, students and library staff on projects by contributing metadata and expertise and by participating in the planning and development of digitization projects.

  • Meet with faculty expressing an interest in collaborating with the library on digitization initiatives.
  • Develop documentation for contributors to IR on metadata schemes, controlled vocabularies, name authority files, etc. to assist in providing metadata.

Build, Preserve, and Provide Access to Rich and Diverse Collections

Non-MARC metadata production will be fully integrated into the cataloging program with print and media formats.

  • Provide training in Dublin Core Metadata to all catalogers.

Begin planning for a next-generation library management system that will enhance discovery and access to information resources and provide appropriate support for the library's acquisition, fiscal management and reporting needs.

  • Work with Library Technology to arrange for presentations and informational sessions on library management systems under consideration.

Collaborate with Special Collections and University Archives to address the issue of hidden collections. Make use of staff language and subject expertise for unique collections.

  • Develop a list prioritizing unique collections to be cataloged with corresponding staff expertise.

Increase access to Stony Brook research and creative works to promote global recognition of the university's intellectual output.

  • Promote the importance of metadata for access to and preservation of Stony Brook research on the web.

Review and emphasize database maintenance and authority control program and include non-MARC databases to increase the quality, accuracy and interoperability of library databases.

  • Develop systemwide policies for name and subject authority control.
  • Design a workflow for authority control practices and procedures.
  • Investigate the feasibility of using a commercial authority control vendor.

Batchload cataloging records for electronic collection sets to provide access to individual titles in databases.

  •  Work with Library Technology to develop a workflow for batchloading cataloging records.

Develop Responsive Library Spaces for Diverse Communities

Provide librarians and staff with comfortable, quiet workspaces and appropriate tools and technologies to ensure a safe, healthy and productive work environment.

  • Meet with staff to analyze work space and how well it meets the description in the goal. Include neighbors in the meeting.
  • Encourage staff to suggest ways of improving work environment.

Provide suitable spaces for training, collaboration with internal and external entities, and professional development to encourage continual acquisition of knowledge.

  • Assess how well the physical environment fosters staff training and collaboration.
  • Continually solicit staff input on usability of training areas.

Foster an Innovative Culture of Learning and Assessment

Continually augment staff skills through training and mentoring.

  • Provide ongoing staff training on various national and international standards.
  • Provide individual consulting and training in specialized aspects of cataloging and metadata.

Provide support for metadata creation by developing policies, best practices, training programs, etc. to support discovery of and access to library collections, projects and other initiatives.

  • Re-establish Metadata Team for developing policies, application profiles, templates, etc.

Increase staff knowledge of Resource Description and Access (RDA) and develop specialists in using RDA to provided access to special materials in both analog and digital formats (e.g.., music, moving image materials, cartographic materials, serials, rare books streaming video, streaming audio, etc.).

  • Develop toolkits with resources on using RDA with special materials.
  • Provide individual training and mentoring to staff handling special materials.

Develop staff expertise in DCMI, Bibframe, XML and TEI and ensure that the staff has some expertise in additional metadata schemes (e.g... MODS, METS,EAD, and VRA).

  • Use webinars, training sessions and other professional development opportunities to increase staff knowledge of metadata schemes, Bibframe data model and markup languages.
  • Create a culture of learning by encouraging and stressing the importance of professional development.
  • Ensure that faculty and staff have time to engage in professional development.

Develop training sessions and guidelines to improve departmental skills with RDA, metadata schemes, etc. and design workshops, guides, etc. to familiarize other library areas with cataloging and metadata standards.

  • Give a presentation on RDA for non-technical services staff.
  • Hold annual open house for staff and introductory sessions for new staff.