Skip to main content


Stony Brook University

MFA Theatre: Accessing Other Libraries

Resources for the study of theatre and theatre arts.

Access to Other Research Libraries

Through the University's membership in various Library consortiums, Stony Brook students, staff and faculty have access to, and/or borrowing privileges at, numerous other research libraries on Long Island, in the greater New York area, and throughout the U.S., Canada, and other countries.

Research Libraries Group (RLG)

The University Libraries' membership in the Research Libraries Group (RLG) consortium allows Stony Brook students, staff, and faculty with current ID cards to enter and use many major libraries in the United States, Canada and abroad.

In our geographical region, other libraries in the program include: Columbia, NYU, The New York Public Library, The New School, American Museum of Natural History, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Museum of Modern Art, New-York Historical Society, Cornell, Princeton, Rutgers, The University of Pennsylvania, and Yale.

Full List of RLG Member Libraries

Stony Brook ID holders visiting these institutions may use materials; however, borrowing privileges are not usually available.

Students, staff, and faculty are urged to call ahead to a particular library, before actually going there, to confirm that they will be granted access at their time of arrival. Also, if they need to use a branch library within one of the participating library systems, it should be confirmed beforehand that the branch also takes part in the program and will allow access.

Access to Libraries on Long Island

Long Island Library Resources Council (LILRC)

The Long Island Library Resources Council (LILRC) is a regional multi-type library organization serving academic, special, public, hospital and school libraries and library systems in Nassau and Suffolk counties.
 
The LILRC Research Loan Program (RLP), a reciprocal borrowing agreement between member libraries, allows Stony Brook students, staff and faculty to use and borrow material from numerous institutions on Long Island, including Adelphi University, Dowling College, Nassau and Suffolk Community Colleges, St. Joseph's College, Touro Law Center, Brookhaven National Laboratory, and the Nassau and Suffolk Public Library Systems.

Students, staff and faculty interested in borrowing material through the Research Loan Program must visit the Reference Desk in the Central Reading Room of Melville Library for an RLP pass.

Full List of LILRC Member Libraries

Access to the New York Public Library

New York Public Library

Any person who lives, works, attends school or pays property taxes in New York State is eligible to receive a New York Public Library card free of charge. This gives researchers the opportunity to use important collections in the NYPL system, check out material, and access a wide array of useful electronic resources from on-site or, in a few cases, from home. See the NYPL web site for more information on getting a card.

See their list of databases.

Access to SUNY Libraries

Stony Brook students, staff, and faculty have direct borrowing privileges at most other SUNY libraries.

Search the SUNY Catalog.

See the SUNY Connect web site.

Access to New York State Library

Anyone who receives a paycheck from the State of New York is eligible for a New York State Government Employees Borrower's Card from the New York State Library (NYSL) in Albany.  The "P" card (because the number starts with a P) allows remote access to the NYSL's online databases, which include several resources that Stony Brook Library doesn't have.

NYS government employees must complete a NYSL State Government Employee Borrower's Card applicationWord document icon and must verify their status as a NY state government employee by presenting one of the following:

  • current NY State Government (State Agency, Legislative or Judicial) photo-identification card that includes an expiration date
  • recent NY State Government paycheck stub AND a current State Agency, Legislative or Judicial photo-identification card
  • recent NY State Government paycheck AND current NYS driver license, or current photo-identification card issued by the NYS Department of Motor Vehicles.

You can white out the salary information on the pay stub if you’d like.  Photocopies or scans are acceptable when mailing, faxing or e-mailing your proof of status.

The initial registration process takes about two weeks.

For more information, visit the NYSL Government Employees information web page.

See the NYSL list of databases.

Subject Guide

Chris Kretz's picture
Chris Kretz
Contact:
Central Reading Room, Melville Library
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794
631.632.1231

Interlibrary Loan Services

The Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery Department supports the research and teaching needs of the Stony Brook University academic community by expanding the range of materials available for scholarship beyond the physical and electronic collections of the Stony Brook University Libraries. 
Interlibrary loan borrowing provides article delivery and short term loans of other materials from a worldwide network of libraries.  Document delivery provides book chapters and articles from the collections of SBU Libraries. There is no charge to users for either interlibrary loan or document delivery.