History of Food: DATABASES & ARTICLES

Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.

1827-1998. Full-text. Online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman's Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.

1964-present. Citations and abstracts. History and culture of the U.S. & Canada, from prehistory to the present. 1,700 academic journals in more than 40 languages, as well as books and dissertations.

Fulltext. Biographical entries more than 17,400 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the United States. Includes illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references, and links to select web sites.

Fulltext. 1741-1930. Over 1,100 American magazines spanning 200 years and covering nearly every aspect of American culture, especially its history, science, literature, music, legal structures, agriculture, theater, and politics. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine (first published in 1741) and America's first scientific journals, Medical Repository, as well as Scientific American, to literary and professional journals, specialized titles, and such well-known popular magazines as Vanity Fair, Ladies' Home Journal and The Dial.

Coverage dates vary, in some cases as far back as 1886. Selected full text. This scholarly business database includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals.

Date range varies. Full-Text. Over 300 volumes of the renowned Cambridge Histories series covering History; Economic History; History of Science (including Modern Biological and Earth Sciences and Modern Physical and Mathematical Sciences); Language and Linguistics; Law; Literary Studies; Music; Philosophy; Political and Social Theory; Religious Studies; Theatre Studies and Performing Arts; and Warfare. In addition to substantial sets on American, British and European History, the collection also contains major works on the Histories of Africa, Egypt, India, Iran, Japan, Latin America, Russia, Southeast Asia, Turkey and the 15-volume Cambridge History of China.

Fulltext and citations. Contains 1.2 million full-text dissertations, including most dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Includes 2.7 million citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day.

List of all EBSCO databases, with the option of searching multiple ones.

Mobile version also available.

1955-present. Citations and abstracts. History of the world (excluding the U.S. & Canada) from 1450 to the present. Military history, women's history, and history of education. 1,700 academic journals in over 40 languages.

Fulltext. Statistical information on American history, covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. New topics include American Indians, slavery, poverty, non-profit organizations, race and ethnicity.

Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.

Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.

1450-1914. Full-text. Includes Part I: The Goldsmiths’-Kress Collection, 1450-1850 and Part II: 1851-1914. An online library of over 66,000 titles, including books, reports, surveys, government publications, correspondence, political pamphlets, speeches, and 466 pre-1906 serials. Combining collections at University of London and Harvard University, The Making of the Modern World is a critical resource for international coverage of social, economic, and business history, as well as political science, technology, industrialization and the birth of the modern corporation. The global scope and wide subject range make it a key resource for History, Economics, Asian Studies, International Affairs, Africana Studies, Political Science, Women/Gender, Anthropology, Law and Philosophy.

Coverage: 1851-3 years ago.

Online access to page images and fulltext articles from the New York Times as far back as the first issue.

Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.

Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection

1956-present. Part of the Web of Science. Cited reference searching finds articles that have cited a previously published work, making it possible to see the impact of that work and its author on subsequent research.

1895-present. Sociology research encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Contains fulltext for 428 "core" journals from 1908-present, and 163 "priority" journals. Abstracts for more than 845 "core" journals as far back as 1895. Also includes fulltext for more than 735 books and monographs, and fulltext for 6,785 conference papers.

1877-1997. Fulltext. Digitized historical archive of The Washington Post. Complete issues, cover to cover, from its beginning in 1877 until 1997, including news articles, photos, advertisements, marriage announcements, obituaries, cartoons, and more. In searchable pdf format.

1600-2000. Fulltext primary sources. Women's reform activities in the U.S. from colonial times to the present. Includes books, pamphlets, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies.

Pre-1000 BC to present. Licensed WorldCat product. A catalog of books and a wide variety of other materials in libraries worldwide.

1990-present. Fulltext. Articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the United States. In English and Spanish.

Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.

1985-present. Fulltext of Newsday (Combined edition). Fulltext of Nassau edition 1988-1997. Fulltext of Queens edition 1988-1996.