Research & Subject Guides: WISE Library Resources: Finding Articles

Helpful books for scientific writing

The ACS style guide :effective communication of scientific information.
ISBN: 9780841239999
Scientific style and format : the CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers
Call Number: QH304 .C68 2006- Reference Science & Engineering Library
ISBN: 9780977966509
Learn how to format your science paper. An essential resource when writing your paper.

Other Useful Resources

Search handbooks and encyclopedia for background information, property data or definition/explanation of terms.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Fulltext. Subjects covered include biochemistry, evolution, genetics, molecular biology, microbiology, neuroscience and structural biology. Introductory and advanced level. Articles on controversial or hot topics are included.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Corresponds to the current edition of the printed book. Coverage of all types of physical science data. Presents the major tables of numerical data in the form of interactive tables. Substances in these tables can be retrieved by searching on name, formula, or CAS Registry Number, and Structure.
Oxford Reference
Current/Regularly updated. A fulltext reference collection that includes facts, figures, definitions, and translations from over 175 Oxford dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, guides, encyclopedias, and the "Oxford Companions" series.

NOTE: Titles with subscription/access have a green, open lock at end of each title; no subscription/access for ones with a red closed lock at end of each title.

Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia
Fulltext. Subjects covered include anatomy, chemistry, medicine, physics, physiology, life science, mathematics and physics.

Searching Scientific Literature

Scientific information can be found in many formats including books, journal articles, datasets, images, conference proceddings, etc.

Journal literature is a major component of biological literature. The following databases are essential tools for searching biological literature.

Find Articles including peer-reviewed articles using:

Web of Science
(Note: does not currently support Internet Explorer 9.) Includes SCIENCE CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1900 - present ), SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1956 - present), and ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX (1975 - present). All subjects are covered. Indexes articles from almost 10,000 journals as well as the citations in the articles indexed. Recent years include abstracts.
Biological Abstracts (Web of Science)
1980-present. Citations and abstracts. Comprehensive coverage of the world's published biological and biomedical research, including traditional, experimental and interdisciplinary areas of biology. More than 5,000 international sources.
PubMed
Search biomedical literature from 1950- present. Includes MEDLINE and other resources. Includes links to full-text articles when available.
Zoological Record
1864 - current. Citations and abstracts. Covers every aspect of zoology, including biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, genetics, and so forth. Over 6,500 international journals, newsletters, books, reviews and conference proceedings.
Dissertations & Theses Global
Fulltext and citations. Contains 1.2 million full-text dissertations, including most dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Includes 2.7 million citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day.
MEDLINE (Ebsco) with full text
Date coverage varies. Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
Engineering Village
1969-present. Citations and abstracts. Most comprehensive coverage of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines; began as Engineering Index in 1896. Over 5000 international sources, including journals, conference proceedings, book chapters, etc.
Environment Complete
Date coverage varies back to the 1940s. Some full-text. Deep coverage in areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

WISE Library Resources

Helpful books for scientific writing

Other Useful Resources

Searching Scientific Literature

Library

Resources

Follow Us