Graduate Student Toolkit: Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

1473-1700. Fulltext. Virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Contains more than 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions. Subject areas include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.

Includes the Tresor de la Langue Francaise (over 2600 texts, ranging from classic works to non-fiction prose and technical writing.) Also included is the Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (OVI) ? containing 1780 vernacular texts dated prior to 1375, including Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio. Reference sources include Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopdie, as well as a number of historical French dictionaries (Nicot, Fraud, Littr, Bayle, and several editions of the Dictionnaire de L'Acadmie franaise.)

1604–1800. Full-text. The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The Burney Collection provides rare and often unique content for scholarly research into a wide range of political, educational, economic or journalistic study. Digitized from important holdings in the British Library, the collection contains nearly 1 million pages, more than 700 bound volumes and over 1,200 titles, including pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers published in London, the English provinces, Ireland, Scotland, the American colonies, Europe and India.

1827-1998. Full-text. Online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman's Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.

Coverage: 1851-3 years ago.

Online access to page images and fulltext articles from the New York Times as far back as the first issue.

15th Century to early 20th Century. Fulltext primary sources. A comprehensive online collection offering a wide range of writings on the subject of witchcraft from the 15th century to the early 20th century, including many rare and fragile manuscripts of eyewitness accounts, court records of the trials of witches, and depositions taken from the victims. The collection also includes: Anti-persecution writings; Legal and church documents and Philosophical writings, as well as numerous dissertations and printed works examining theological, legal, and social implications of witchcraft.

1700-1799. Fulltext. Major digital collection consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Includes over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) - books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue.

Pre-1000 BC to present. Licensed WorldCat product. A catalog of books and a wide variety of other materials in libraries worldwide.