Research & Subject Guides: Research Tutorials and Handouts: Databases

General Database Tutorials

Introduction to EBSCOhost EBSCOhost is the provider of a number of databases, including Academic Search Complete, America: History & Life, Education Research Complete, Gender Studies, MLA International Bibliography, PsycINFO, etc. This tutorial provides an overview of the search interface.
My EBSCOhost Folders This tutorial covers using a MyEBSCO account to organize research and make your findings easily accessible when working on multiple computers. The account also allows you to save searches and create journal and search alerts.
EBSCOhost: Creating a Journal Alert
EBSCOhost: Creating a Search Alert
LexisNexis Tutorials Tutorials available: Overview, Selecting Sources, Working with Results, and Summaries & Headnotes.

ScienceDirect Online Tutorials Available in English, Chinese, Korean, Spanish, Russian, and more.
ScienceDirect: Search Alerts Get alerts by email or RSS when a stored search retrieves new results.
ScienceDirect: Volume/Issue Alerts A Volume/Issue Alert notifies you by email when a new volume of a book or a new issue of journal becomes available on ScienceDirect.
ScienceDirect: Quick Start User Guide
Web of Science Tutorials Provides recorded tutorials on various topics, such as: Search Tips, Cited Reference Searching, Citation Reporting and the H-Index, Citation Alerts, etc.

JSTOR Tutorials Provides a list of JSTOR tutorials such as How to Search JSTOR, Keeping up: Alerts in JSTOR, 19th Century British Pamphlets, and more.