Occupational Therapy

Applied Theories in Occupational Therapy: A Practical Approach, Second Edition provides a system-based, comprehensive overview of the theories, models, and frames of reference that influence occupational therapy around the world. Esteemed authors Marilyn B. Cole and Roseanna Tufano have updated their foundational text with an evidence-based focus derived from their experiences of more than 30 years teaching theoretical content to students.  Applied Theories in Occupational Therapy: A Practical Approach, Second Edition offers practical templates to help readers learn the key constructs of each theory and assimilate knowledge based on Mosey's organizational structure. Each theory-based chapter is designed for ease in gathering content knowledge and comparing theories in a distinctive manner. The book includes: Summaries of the current trends found in practice, along with external influential models of health and wellness impacting populations of concern  Exploration of some of the most common occupation-based models around the world. Each model's holistic conceptual nature is described, including theoretical assumptions and practice guidelines for evaluation and intervention Reviews of common frames of reference found in evidence-based practice, which address the secondary and tertiary needs of common populations   In this Edition, learning activities and case-based analyses strengthen the application of theory into current practice contexts. Practical guidelines assist the reader in formulating an evaluation process and determining the relevant intervention strategies that promote occupational participation, engagement, and functioning across the lifespan and the continuum of health. Instructors in educational settings can visitwww.efacultylounge.com for additional education material to be used for teaching in the classroom.

Assessments in Occupational Therapy Mental Health: An Integrative Approach, Fourth Edition is a unique compilation of mental health assessments that are taught in occupational therapy academic programs and used in clinical practice. This highly anticipated Fourth Edition provides the occupational therapy student and educator with knowledge about the evaluation process, assessments that are current and accurate, and how to generate research for developing assessment tools.    Assessments in Occupational Therapy Mental Health, Fourth Edition by Drs. Barbara J. Hemphill and Christine K. Urish, along with more than 30 world-renowned contributors, includes 15 new assessments, along with updates to 9 assessments from the previous editions. Also incorporated throughout the text is the AOTA's Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, Third Edition. Each chapter includes: A theoretical base on the assessment including historical development, rationale for development, behaviors assessed, appropriate patient use, review of literature, and assessment administration How the instrument is administered, which includes the procedure, problems with administering, and materials needed The presentation of a case study and interpretation of results Statistical analysis and recent studies Suggestions for further research to continue the development and refinement of assessments in occupational therapy mental health New to the Fourth Edition: Kawa Model Assessment Spirituality Model of Human Occupation Assessments Assessments Measuring Activities of Daily Living Some of the topics included in the Fourth Edition: Evidence-based practice  The interviewing process Psychological assessments Cognitive assessments / learning assessments Behavioral assessments Biological and spiritual assessments While introducing new assessments and updated information, Assessments in Occupational Therapy Mental Health: An Integrative Approach, Fourth Edition is ideal for occupational therapy faculty, students, practitioners, as well as nurses, psychologists, and social workers. 

This book describes the development of portable, wearable, and highly customizable hand exoskeletons to aid patients suffering from hand disabilities. It presents an original approach for the design of human hand motion assistance devices that relies on (i) an optimization-based kinematic scaling procedure, which guarantees a significant adaptability to the user's hands motion, and (ii) a topology optimization-based design methodology, which allowed the design of a lightweight, comfortable device with a high level of performance. The book covers the whole process of hand exoskeleton development, from establishing a new design strategy, to the construction and testing of hand exoskeleton prototypes, using additive manufacturing techniques. As such, it offers timely information to both researchers and engineers developing human motion assistance systems, especially wearable ones.

What is the evidence? Why do you need it? How do you evaluate it? How do you use it to make decisions? Put the evidence to work for your patients. Become an effective evidence-based practitioner. Master the knowledge and clinical decision-making skills you need to provide the very best care for your clients...based on the evidence. Step by step, you'll learn how to find, read, understand, critique, and apply research evidence in practice. An access code inside new printed texts unlocks a Davis Digital eBook and interactive case studies online at DavisPlus.

With an international team of expert contributors, Renee Taylor carries on Gary Kielhofner's innovative work in the 2nd Edition of his comprehensive research methodologies text. This guide bridges the gap between theorists and practitioners. It focuses on the relevance and logic of research to provide a practical, demystified approach to conducting applied research in the field for graduate students and clinicians. You'll begin with an introduction to the nature and scope of research and its place in OT and then explore research designs, measurements, and statistical analysis for qualitative, quantitative, and mixed studies. You'll examine the steps and procedures required to conduct research and how research can be used to shape professional practice and improve patient care.

A person-centered, recovery-oriented, and occupation-based approach to mental health across the lifespan This revision of a well-loved text continues to embrace the confluence of person, environment, and occupation in mental health as its organizing theoretical model, emphasizing the lived experience of mental illness and recovery. Rely on this groundbreaking text to guide you through an evidence-based approach to helping clients with mental health disorders on their recovery journey by participating in meaningful occupations. Understand the recovery process for all areas of their lives--physical, emotional, spiritual, and mental--and know how to manage co-occurring conditions. Content has been updated to follow the most current DSM-5 information and best practices from the evidence. New chapters highlight changes in occupational therapy practice and settings, and additional assessment and intervention content strengthens the applicability to current practice.

Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Preferred Access that unlocks the full eBook and Navigate 2 TestPrep. This TestPrep provides over 1,000 practice questions and enough practice clinical simulation test questions to provide over 5 practice tests that cover content throughout the four domains using the NBCOT Domain Specifications chart.Students - Get 3 Day Trial Access to Navigate 2 TestPrep.Preparing for the Occupational Therapy National Board Exam: 45 Days and Counting, Second Edition is a comprehensive overview for occupational therapist students preparing to take the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT) OTR exam. It utilizes a well-received health and wellness focus and includes tips and self-assessment forms to develop effective study habits. Unlike other OTR examination review guides, this text chooses to provide a more structured and holistic approach, including a detailed calendar and plan of study for the 45 days leading up to the exam.KEY FEATURES * Chapter outlines cover subject matter found throughout an OT curriculum, drawn from a lexicon taken from the Occupational Therapy Framework III (AOTA, 2014) * Each subject address the four domain areas according to the NBCOT OTR examination * Workbook pages include specific references used in OT curricula to enable exploration of challenging or unfamiliar content * Self-study activities with answers are provided at the end of each chapter * Journaling section includes 3-4 questions with a reflective learning approach to help students identify areas of weakness and prioritize studying * Test taking strategies, exam preparation activities, and real life advice for repeating the examABOUT THE EDITORSThe editors of this edition have the experience and credentials needed to ensure a structured, organized, and effective approach to review a large amount of material in a reasonable amount of time. Dr. Rosanne DiZazzo-Miller has been assisting students from across the country for many years on preparing for the board exam, while Dr. Fredrick Pociask has expertise in instructional design and delivery. Furthermore, all practice question content was reviewed and edited by our Item Writing Specialist - Dr. Sara Maher - who is a well-known and respected item-writer in health-science education. This ensures that students will be provided with continuous examples of NBCOT® style questions.Instructor Resources * Classroom worksheets and study questions * Laboratory guides and learning activities * PowerPoint® presentations for each chapterMore than a study guide, this book can provide a course-ready capstone in addition to the resources and activities already incorporated into the text. Utilize this comprehensive resource in your program to help students study for the NBCOT OTR exam in preparation for a high pass rate in addition to or in place of current methods.Read about the new NBCOT Practice Analysis with a summary by experts Rosanne DiZazzo-Miller and Fredrick D. Pociask