Research & Subject Guides: Public Health: Health Statistics

Health Disparities

CDC Health Disparities and Inequalities Report — United States, 2013
Health disparities were examined for population characteristics that included race and ethnicity, sex, sexual orientation, age, disability, socioeconomic status, and geographic location.
The purpose is to raise awareness of differences among groups regarding selected health outcomes and health determinants and to prompt actions to reduce disparities.
Rural Health Information Hub
Select from a wide range of data on health disparities, health workforce, demographics, and more.

Finding Statistics in PubMed

Searching PubMed can find statistics included in journal articles. Using the MeSH heading for the subject and the subheading "statistics and numerical data" is the best way to find these articles.

For example, to find statistics on child abuse, using the combination "Child Abuse/statistics and numerical data" [MeSH] provides a focused and relevant results set. Other related MEDLINE subheadings to consider include economics, epidemiology, ethnology, manpower, mortality, supply and distribution, trends, and utilization.

PubMed

New York State Health Data

County Health Rankings and Roadmaps for New York
Health Data New York
All of the available New York State health data is now searchable from this site.
New York State Community Health Indicator Reports (CHIRS)
Includes health statistics and rates searchable by New York State counties.
New York State Health Facts
New York State health facts from the Kaiser Family Foundation.
Stats of the States -New York
from the CDC
Behavioral Risk Factors (BRFSS) for New York
Prevalence & Trends Data for New York State
Census Bureau - New York
data about New York from the US Census
Rural Health Information Hub - New York
Vital Statistics of New York State
Annual tables include population, live births, spontaneous fetal deaths, induced abortions, pregnancies, and mortality.

Governmental Resources

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Provides national data and statistics by disease or topic.
Health and Retirement Study
Supported by the National Institute on Aging, they survey a representative sample of more than 26,000 Americans over the age of 50 every two years.
Health, United States
An annual report on trends in health statistics from the National Center for Health Statistics.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)
Largest all-payer collection of hospital inpatient care statistical information in the United States.
Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities, Bureau of Labor Statistics
Provides annual information on the rate and number of work related injuries, illnesses, and fatal injuries.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS)
The most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.
National Cancer Institute
Locate the latest topical reports, interactive graphs, and statistics for many common cancer types.
National Center for Health Statistics
Collects data from surveys and vital records, then publishes and provides access to this information.

Organizational Resources

American Cancer Society
Facts & Figures publications present the most current trends in cancer occurrence and survival.
American Heart Association: Heart and Stroke Statistics
Find up-to-date statistics on heart disease, stroke, and other vascular diseases.
American Hospital Association
A sample of data from their annual survey of hospitals in the United States.
American Stroke Association: Statistics
A valuable resource for statistics on stroke morbidity, mortality, and risks.
Association of American Medical Colleges: Data and Analysis
Collects data on medical students, residents, as well as institutional operations.
Global Health Observatory (GHO)
World Health Organization theme pages provide data and analyses on global health priorities.
Native Health Database
Tribal epidemiology from UNM Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center
Pan American Health Organization
Essential health indicators to quantitatively characterize the health situation of 48 countries and territories in the Americas.
Project Tycho: Data for Health
A project at the University of Pittsburgh to advance the availability and use of public health data for science and policy making.
UNData
Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the United Nations system.
World Health Survey
Provides comprehensive baseline information on the health of populations and on the outcomes associated with the investment in health systems.

Public Health

Health Disparities

Finding Statistics in PubMed

New York State Health Data

Governmental Resources

Organizational Resources

Library

Resources

Follow Us