Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Collections
Collection of online encyclopedias and specialized reference sources covering a wide variety of topics and subjects, including current events, Arts & Humanities, Business, Education, Science, Social Sciences, and Religion.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Fulltext. An illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past.
Current/Regularly updated. A fulltext reference collection that includes facts, figures, definitions, and translations from over 175 Oxford dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, guides, encyclopedias, and the "Oxford Companions" series.
NOTE: Titles with subscription/access have a green, open lock at end of each title; no subscription/access for ones with a red closed lock at end of each title.
Encyclopedia of Western colonialism since 1450 by
The Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450 provides students and researchers with a much-needed, comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and expansion. From a global perspective, the set traces many facets of colonial growth and imperialism, including Europe's overseas expansion into the Americas, Asia, Africa and the Pacific, beginning in the 15th century; the collapse of empires; race relations in decolonized regions; and current examples of continuing dependence by muc of the developing world on Western nations (often former colonial powers themselves). In addition, a number of articles address the ideology and theories behind colonialism and imperialism, as well as the major and controversial issues at the core of the debate on colonialism and its consequences, such as Apartheid in South Africa, the Maji Mahi Revolt, and the Minas Gerais Conspiracy. The breadth and depth of coverage offered in this title will cover substantial geographic, historical, political, economic, social, and cultural history, providing an invaluable interdisciplinary tool to the many states and schools that have instituted requirements for teaching world history.
Spotlight Print Reference
All books are located in the Main Reference Library in the Central Reading Room, unless otherwise indicated.
Colonialism: An international, social, cultural, and political encyclopedia by
Call Number: JV22 .C65 2003
More than 600 entries covering geographical concepts and entities (Angola, Johannesburg, Spanish empire, U.S. empire); ideas (Absolutism, Pacifism); events (Boxer Rebellion, Crimean War, Lewis and Clark expedition); peoples (Incas, Kurds, Puritans); and individuals (Dean Acheson, Christopher Columbus, Rudyard Kipling, V. S. Naipaul), among a slew of other topics. The documents section that comprises volume 3 includes material like the Monroe Doctrine, Ho Chi Minh's Independence Speech, and the U.S. Declaration of Independence. Page is no stranger to the subject of colonialism, having also written Africa and the First World War (St. Martin's, 1987) and The Chiwaya War: Malawians and the First World War (Westview, 2000).
Historical dictionary of European imperialism by
Call Number: D217 .H57 1991
The Historical Dictionary of European Imperialism is designed to provide a ready reference tool for students and scholars. Its major focus is the Spanish, Portuguese, British, Dutch, French, German, Belgian, and Italian empires during the past 500 years. The Dictionary offers brief descriptive essays on a variety of topics--colonies, prominent individuals, legislation, treaties, conferences, wars, revolutions, and technologies. The individuals included have a historical significance that transcends their own countries. Essays on individual colonies usually end with the winning of independence or formal incorporation into the body politic of the mother country. References at the end of each entry provide sources of additional information for those interested in further research. Cross-references within the text help the reader to find related items. Three appendixes provide a guide to contemporary languages in former colonial areas, a chronology of European imperialism, and a complete table of island systems in the world. This unique reference work will interest scholars and students of European imperialism and the reference librarians who assist them.
A pocket guide to writing in history by
Call Number: D13 .R295 2007 and Main Library Stacks D13 .R295 2007
Bedford/St. Martin’s, c2007. 5th ed. Its concise yet comprehensive coverage of every step of the research and writing process--with detailed advice on documenting sources and avoiding plagiarism -- have made A Pocket Guide to Writing in History a best-seller over four editions. For the fifth edition, Mary Lynn Rampolla -- who is active in the fields of both history and composition -- provides more practical help with basic skills and new coverage of more sophisticated critical-thinking skills such as analyzing an assignment, reading critically, and constructing a strong argument. Organizational changes over several chapters make it even easier for students at all levels to find the information they need to succeed in their course, saving instructors valuable class time.
Cambridge illustrated history of the British Empire by
Call Number: Main Library Stacks - Reserve - DA16 .M29 1996 - Seven Day Loan
Introduction : the world shaped by empire ; The British Empire at the end of the eighteenth century ; 1783-1870 : an expanding empire ; 1870-1918 : the empire under threat ; 1918 to the 1960s : keeping afloat / P.J. Marshall -- For richer, for poorer? / David Fieldhouse -- Power, authority, and freedom / A.J. Stockwell -- Empires in the mind / Andrew Porter -- Imperial towns and cities / Thomas R. Metcalf -- British emigration and new identities / Ged Martin and Benjamin E. Kline -- The diaspora of the Africans and the Asians / P.J. Marshall -- Art and the empire / John M. MacKenzie -- Imperial Britain / P.J. Marshall -- Australia / K.S. Inglis -- Africa / Toyin Falola -- British rule in India : an assessment / Tapan Raychaudhuri -- Conclusion : empire in retrospect / P.J. Marshall.