Research & Subject Guides: Chemistry: Databases

Find eJournals

Journals Search Home | HELP

Top Three Chemistry Databases

Reaxys
Chemical information database including content from the Crossfire databases, Beilstein and Gmelin. Search inorganic, organic or organometallic substances. Reaction, citation and experimental data are available in this database. Some patent information is also available.
SciFinder-n
1900s-present. Citations & abstracts. Largest substance database with more than 26 million substances, including 12 million organic substances. World's most comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents. The link leads to instructions for accessing the database.

Training materials for using SciFinder-n can be found here: https://www.cas.org/support/training/scifinder-n
Web of Science
(Note: does not currently support Internet Explorer 9.) Includes SCIENCE CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1900 - present ), SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1956 - present), and ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX (1975 - present). All subjects are covered. Indexes articles from almost 10,000 journals as well as the citations in the articles indexed. Recent years include abstracts.

Chemistry Databases

PubMed
Search biomedical literature from 1950- present. Includes MEDLINE and other resources. Includes links to full-text articles when available.

ChemSpider
- This link opens in a new window
Searches and links compound data for millions of chemical structures.

Spectral Databases for Organic Compounds
Includes various types of spectra such as EI-MS, FT-IR, ESR, C-NMR and H-NMR.
Cambridge Structural Database
Contains crystal structure information, chemical, and bibliographic data for over 400,000 organic and metal-organic compounds. Client version available in Chemistry Library Sinc Site. Contact the Chemistry Library for more information.
PubChem
Contains information on the biological activity of small molecules.
Dissertations & Theses @ SUNY Stony Brook
Fulltext. PDF versions of Stony Brook University dissertations, plus 24-page previews.
NIST Data Gateway
Date coverage varies. Scientific and technical data, including physical properties of compounds. Subjects covered include biology, chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering.

Matweb
Springer Materials
Searchable interface of Landolt-Bornstein volumes, chemical safety documents, and thermodynamic property data.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Corresponds to the current edition of the printed book. Coverage of all types of physical science data. Presents the major tables of numerical data in the form of interactive tables. Substances in these tables can be retrieved by searching on name, formula, or CAS Registry Number, and Structure.
Science of Synthesis
Science of Synthesis provides a critical review of the synthetic methodology developed from the early 1800s to-date for the entire field of organic and organometallic chemistry.

Searching Chemical Information

Steps for searching chemical information.

1. Decide what type of information is needed. Citation, structure, reaction, property data, etc.

2. Use the appropriate database to search the content.

For example: SciFinder-n and Reaxys allow structure and reaction searching. The version of Web of Science that SBU subscribes to only allows citation/literature searching.

3. Helpful hint: Locate the CAS registry # for your substance. The CAS registry # is a unique substance identifier. Locate the CAS # using SciFinder-n or the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.

If you need assistance locating chemical information, please contact Clara Tran, clara.tran@stonybrook.edu.

Chemistry

Find eJournals

Top Three Chemistry Databases

Chemistry Databases

Searching Chemical Information

Library

Resources

Follow Us