Date coverage varies. Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and languages. There are more than 16,000 journals and 6.5 million article records in the directory.
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
Fulltext access to selected scholarly journals and e-books. Citations and abstracts for books and journals outside of SBU's fulltext subscription. Covers all disciplines with emphasis in the sciences (including medicine) and social sciences.
Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection.
Note: Effective January 1, 2016, ScienceDirect will no longer support Internet Explorer 8 (IE8). Compatibility mode in IE9 or higher reverts the browser back to IE7 or IE8 behavior. If you experience issues accessing ScienceDirect using IE9 or higher, please disable the compatibility view mode in your IE browser.
Note2: Effective December 2016, Science Direct will also no longer support Internet Explorer 9.
(Note: does not currently support Internet Explorer 9.) Includes SCIENCE CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1900 - present ), SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1956 - present), and ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX (1975 - present). All subjects are covered. Indexes articles from almost 10,000 journals as well as the citations in the articles indexed. Recent years include abstracts.
A global science gateway linking national and international scientific databases and repositories. This site allows users to search scientific information collected from around the world. Much of the information in this database is not available via conventional web searching.