Research & Subject Guides: Continuing Education: Medicine

Important

** To Earn CME/CE Credit, please make sure you are signed in. **

Continuing Medical Education

Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education
The main accreditation body for CME courses. Lists accredited providers and explains the accreditation process.
AHC Media: freeCME.com
Courses can be sorted by topic, specialty, and by accrediting body. Courses are free but registration is required.
Cleveland Clinic Center for Continuing Education
Sponsors or jointly sponsors live CME courses as well as other regularly scheduled activities. Participants may choose among text-based programs, webcasts, and podcasts.
Mayo School of Continuous Professional Development
Offerings include a comprehensive selection of clinical, surgical and research courses, as well as programs on managed care, spirituality in medicine, and practice management and leadership.
Medical Society of the State of New York
MSSNY develops educational programming for physicians (directly sponsored) on topics important to New York State physicians in a variety of formats designed to educate the adult learner.
MedPage Today
Co-developed by MedPage Today and the Office of Continuing Medical Education, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine.
PRIME Education, Inc.
PRIME is the author of all the CME courses and case studies on its site. Courses may be online, live, or in print and are identifiable by discipline and by topic and are searchable.
Society for Academic Continuing Medical Education
Their mission is to promote the research, scholarship, evaluation and development of CME/CPD (continuing medical education/continuing professional development).

Databases for Medicine

Dynamed
DynaMed® is a premiere clinical information resource used by physicians to answer clinical questions quickly and easily at the point of care. It includes thousands of topics that provide clinicians and educators with the evidence-based information they need to make informed decisions. Topics are updated daily as new evidence becomes available.

ClinicalKey
An enhanced version of MD Consult including over 1,000 books, 500 journals, multimedia, patient education materials and other content across 12 distinct content types. Access to the point-of-care content from First Consult is also provided.

A mobile version of this resource is also available.

National Center for Complimentary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
1999-present. The federal government's lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.
Natural Medicines Databases
2000-present. An international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. Using a comprehensive methodology and reproducible grading scales, information is created that is evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed.

Pharmacology World
Contains videos to help master key concepts in pharmacology. Located within the STAT!Ref database.
U.S Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
Medical product safety information, adverse event/problem reporting and more.

VisualDx
VisualDx is a clinical decision support tool. It has nearly 1,200 visually presented conditions and over 22,000 medical images. The system will build a custom differential diagnosis for the clinical staff as they enter specific findings about the patient. (SUBSCRIPTION OF THE "REGIONAL RESOURCE CENTER FOR EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS AT STONY BROOK".

Psychiatry Online

Psychiatry Online
The Psychiatry online database features five journals on the field of psychiatry. It also contains the DSM Library, online assessment measures, access to online textbooks, and other cases and topics relative to the field of psychiatry.

Study Guide to Child and Adolescent Psychiatry by Tapan Parikh; Mina K. Dulcan
ISBN: 9781615374915
Publication Date: 2023-03-28
Study Guide to Child and Adolescent Psychiatry is a question-and-answer companion that allows you to evaluate your mastery of the subject matter as you progress through Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Third Edition. The Study Guide is made up of approximately 295 questions divided into 49 individual quizzes of 5-8 questions each that correspond to chapters in the textbook. Questions are followed by an answer guide that references relevant text (including page numbers) in the textbook to allow quick access to needed information. Each answer is accompanied by a brief discussion that not only addresses the correct response but also explains why other responses are not correct. The Study Guide's companion, Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Third Edition, provides practitioners the depth and breadth of knowledge covering topics including neurodevelopmental and other psychiatric disorders and disorders affecting somatic function; multiple approaches to psychosocial treatments; the principles of pediatric psychopharmacology and use of the medications; and special topics, including cultural and religious considerations, youth suicide, legal and ethical issues, and gender and sexual diversity.
Study Guide to Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry by Philip R. Muskin
ISBN: 9781615372614
Publication Date: 2019-07-15
Study Guide to Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry is a question-and-answer companion that allows you to evaluate your mastery of the subject matter as you progress through The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychosomatic Medicine and Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry, Third Edition. The Study Guide is made up of approximately 390 questions divided into 39 individual quizzes with an average of 10 questions each that correspond to chapters in the textbook. Questions are followed by an answer guide that references relevant text (including page numbers) in the textbook to allow quick access to needed information. Each answer is accompanied by a discussion that not only addresses the correct response but also explains why other responses are not correct. The Study Guide's companion, The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychosomatic Medicine and Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry, Third Edition, has been thoroughly updated to reflect the rapidly expanding evidence base in the field. This textbook addresses general principles in evaluation and management (including legal and ethical issues); psychiatric symptoms and disorders in the medically ill; psychological and social aspects of diseases affecting the various organ systems; and psychiatric interventions for this patient population.
Study Guide to Geriatric Psychiatry by Philip R. Muskin; Anna L. Dickerman
ISBN: 9781615370450
Publication Date: 2016-06-06
Study Guide to Geriatric Psychiatry is a question-and-answer companion that allows you to evaluate your mastery of the subject matter as you progress through The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Geriatric Psychiatry, Fifth Edition. The Study Guide is made up of approximately 255 questions divided into 25 individual quizzes of 8-17 questions each that correspond to chapters in the textbook. Questions are followed by an answer guide that references relevant text (including the page numbers) in the textbook to allow quick access to needed information. Each answer is accompanied by a discussion that not only addresses the correct response but also explains why other responses are not correct. The Study Guide's companion, The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Geriatric Psychiatry, Fifth Edition, has been thoroughly reorganized and updated to reflect new findings, with expanded treatment options and considerations and future directions, such as translational research, enhancing the text's utility while maintaining its reputation as the foremost reference and clinical guide on the subject.
Study Guide to Psychiatry by Philip R. Muskin; Anna L. Dickerman; Claire Holderness; Vivian Liu
ISBN: 9781615373291
Publication Date: 2021-09-03
Study Guide to Psychiatry is a question-and-answer companion that allows you to evaluate your mastery of the subject matter as you progress through The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry, Seventh Edition. The Study Guide is made up of more than 400 questions divided into 44 individual quizzes containing up to 20 questions each that correspond to the chapters in the Textbook. Questions are followed by an Answer Guide that references relevant text (including page numbers) in the Textbook to allow quick access to needed information. Each answer is accompanied by a discussion that addresses the correct response and also (when appropriate) explains why other responses are not correct. The Study Guide's companion, The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry, Seventh Edition, reflects advances in the understanding of the etiology, diagnosis, and treatment of psychiatric disorders as well as the positive, transformational change that has taken place in the field of psychiatry as a whole since the last edition. This edition incorporates a deep understanding of mechanisms of disease, novel therapeutic methods, evidence-based clinical approaches, and adaptive systems and models of care.
Study Guide to Substance Abuse Treatment by Philip R. Muskin
ISBN: 9781585625116
Publication Date: 2015-06-26
Study Guide to Substance Abuse Treatment is a question-and-answer companion that allows you to evaluate your mastery of the subject matter as you progress through The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Substance Abuse Treatment, Fifth Edition. The Study Guide is made up of questions divided into individual quizzes of 10-20 questions each that correspond to the chapters in the Textbook. Questions are followed by an Answer Guide that references relevant text (including the page number) in the Textbook to allow quick access to needed information. Each answer is accompanied by a discussion that addresses the correct response and also (when appropriate) explains why other responses are not correct.

American Journal Podcasts (AJP) provides an in-depth look at various topics from the most recent issues of The American Journal of Psychiatry. featuring interviews, background, findings, and the future of research. Available on:

"Finding Our Voice", hosted by Dr. Santa Virani, brings discussions and opinions from the next generation of psychiatrists. Sharing their own stories and offering new takes on difficult issues. Available on:

"Mentally Healthy Nation", hopes to educate the public by providing accessible solutions to address our nation's mental health. Featuring open and honest conversations with psychiatrists and experts about various areas of mental health. Available on:

Explore Psychiatry Unbound for an exclusive glimpse into the forefront of contemporary psychiatric research. Subscribe today to delve into vital topics within the field and discover the global impact our authors are making in clinical practice. Available now on:

Join "Psychiatric Services From Pages to Practice" for insights into cutting-edge mental health services research and its relevance. Delve into topics such as community-based treatment programs, collaborative care, evidence-based treatments and service delivery, criminal and social justice, policy analysis, and beyond. Available on:

UpToDate

UpToDate
1992-present. A full-text clinical resource that provides instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked questions in clinical practice. Specialities covered include adult primary care, cardiology, family practice, gynecology, infectious diseases, oncology, pediatrics, women's health, and others.

If you are off-campus, you will be asked for your NetID and NetID password.

Also available as a mobile app!

Are you trying to install the app?

From the HSL homepage, access UpToDate.
Register for a new UpToDate account, or sign in with your existing account.
Download the UpToDate app on your mobile device.
Sign into the app using your UpToDate account (not your NetID).

Did you receive an email asking you to renew your access?

Open the UpToDate app on your mobile device.
Sign into the app using your UpToDate account (not your NetID).

Continuing Education

CME at Stony Brook

What are Category 1 and Category 2 Credit Hours?

Important

Continuing Medical Education

Databases for Medicine

Psychiatry Online

UpToDate

Library

Resources

Follow Us