Research & Subject Guides: Streaming Video: Collections

Kanopy Streaming Video

Kanopy Streaming Video is a repository of streaming films supporting research and teaching in the arts and humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, health sciences, and technical fields. Content includes documentaries, training videos, and foreign language materials.

Search by title or subject, or browse Kanopy using the curated the collections on the homepage.

Kanopy videos can be viewed by an unlimited number of simultaneous users at Stony Brook University. Viewers can share links to films, embed content in Blackboard sites, and create playlists and clips.

SBU users can access Kanopy off-campus using their NetID and password. It is not necessary to create a Kanopy acount or to log in at the top right of the Kanopy landing page in order to search for and view content. A Kanopy account allows users to create playlists, clips, and a viewing history.

For help with Kanopy, consult this page or contact the Libraries using the E-mail Me button at the right side of the page, or the Ask Us button at the top right.

Alexander Street: Academic Video Online (AVON)

The Alexander Street: Academic Video Online (AVON) streaming video collection offers access to over 80,000 films to support research and teaching in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and health sciences.

Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) makes this database a useful resource for faculty and students alike. AVON includes titles from publishers BBC, CBS, A&E, and PBS, among others.

Swank Digital Campus

Swank Digital Campus offers on-demand streaming video by subscription, with an emphasis on feature films.

DOCUSEEK

DOCUSEEK
Streaming video provider focusing on documentaries.

The HistoryMakers

HistoryMakers Digital Archive
The HistoryMakers was founded to address the lack of documentation and preservation of the African American historical record. It captures – one person at a time – the untold personal stories of both well-known and unsung African Americans, and by creating a priceless video collection giving those involved their special place in history.

The testimonies captured in The HistoryMakers Collection – conducted in homes and offices across the United States and abroad – reveal the broad scope of narratives of African American men and women who have made significant contributions to American life, history, and culture during the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries.

Music, Dance, Performance & Documentaries

Digital Theatre+
Includes 600+ classic and contemporary productions in live-capture and audio formats from Digital Theatre+ and partners such as Shakespeare’s Globe, BroadwayHD and the BBC, 800+ video resources such as insights from casts, creatives and academics to give context and enrich students’ learning, and 21,000+ written resources like essays, guides, lesson plans and more give an in-depth look at a play or topic.
Music Online: Opera in Video
Opera in Video will contain over 200 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews and documentaries. Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon.
OntheBoards.tv
HD-quality contemporary performance films of the best new works by current leaders in Dance, Theatre, Music and other forms that defy categorization – all available for streaming, download or mobile viewing. Filmed at On the Boards, as well as peer theaters across the country, each full-length work is shot and edited with 4-5 high-definition cameras and edited collaboratively with the artists. The collection focuses on international innovators and regional artists, including works by artists who are rarely seen in the U.S. and works that will never be performed again.
60 Minutes: 1997-2014
The 60 MINUTES: 1997-2014 online collection provides 350 hours of high-definition video from television's most preeminent news program, including hundreds of segments not available anywhere else in the world. This resource also includes 175 hours of bonus segments from the popular CBS News program Sunday Morning.

Health Sciences

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy contains nearly 330 videos of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colors, including 5 new, groundbreaking videos of the inner ear. Dr. Robert Acland presents moving structures—muscles, tendons, and joints—making the same movements that they make in life. The videos show complex structures step by step—from bone to surface anatomy—to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function. The entire series was digitally re-mastered producing clearer, brighter, and more detailed videos than seen in previous versions.
Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Features more than 8 hours of video content to visually illustrates head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for use by students and faculty in medical, nursing, and related programs. The videos are meant to compliment the Bates textbook. Also includes OSCE clinical skills videos.
Counseling and Therapy in Video
Counseling and Therapy in Video provides faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. These collection provide a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens.
JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments
JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. Established in 2006, JoVE is devoted to publishing scientific research in a visual format to help researchers overcome two of the biggest challenges facing the scientific research community today; poor reproducibility and the time and labor intensive nature of learning new experimental techniques.

Access Note: SBU has access to the sections for Bioengineering, Biology, Immunology and Infection, Medicine, and Neuroscience
Rehabilitation Therapy in Video
Largest and richest streaming video resource ever assembled for the study of occupational therapy, physical/physiotherapy, and speech-language pathology. The collection allows students and faculty to easily find, cite, and share footage of top clinicians and academics explaining the underlying anatomical and neurological issues in specific patient populations, while demonstrating effective techniques and methods for their treatment. All of the video has been thoroughly indexed to allow users to search and filter content by patient details, therapist specialization, treatment method, presenting problem, and more.

Streaming Video: Collections