Research & Subject Guides: POL 325 Civil Liberties & Civil Rights: Newspaper Articles

Historic Newspaper Collections Online

New York Times (Historical)
Coverage: 1851-3 years ago.

Online access to page images and fulltext articles from the New York Times as far back as the first issue.
African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
1827-1998. Full-text. Online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman's Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.
America's Historical Newspapers
1755-1922. Fulltext. More than 135 historic newspapers from all 50 states. Titles include The Liberator, William Lloyd Garrison's anti-slavery newspaper; New Orleans Daily Creole, the first African-American newspaper in America; Siwinowe Kesibwi (Shawnee Star), the first newspaper printed wholly in a Native American language; and the Maryland Gazette, the oldest continuously published newspaper in America. Regional newspapers include The New York Herald, Irish World, and Jewish Daily News.
Washington Post (Historical)
1877-1997. Fulltext. Digitized historical archive of The Washington Post. Complete issues, cover to cover, from its beginning in 1877 until 1997, including news articles, photos, advertisements, marriage announcements, obituaries, cartoons, and more. In searchable pdf format.

Current News - Free Fulltext

The University Libraries maintain online subscriptions to a number of databases containing newspaper content. Access is provided through the links on the library's website. If you are accessing them from off campus, you will be prompted for your NetID and password.

Points to remember:

Some databases will only have certain specific years of a newspaper and not the most current content
Full text may be in PDF (looking like the actual publication) or HTML (often missing photos and graphics)
Searching newspapers through databases is not the same experience as searching a personal subscription to a newspaper
Newspapers may publish web-only content and interactive stories that do not appear in the databases

Below is a selected list of databases. For more, see here.

U.S. Major Dailies US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985. This database is available on the ProQuest platform.
New York Times (Current) Coverage: 1980-Present Online access to page images and fulltext articles from the New York Times.
Nexis Uni Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Ethnic NewsWatch 1990-present. Fulltext. Articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the United States. In English and Spanish.
Newsday 1985-present. Fulltext of Newsday (Combined edition). Fulltext of Nassau edition 1988-1997. Fulltext of Queens edition 1988-1996.
Gale OneFile: News 1980-present. Citations. Covers 5 U.S. newsapapers: The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Newspaper Source Plus Current. Full text. Includes 1,570 full-text newspapers, providing more than 27 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 583,100 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts.

News Web Sites

ABYZ News Links
News from around the world, in many languages
Al Jazeera
AlterNet.org
Arts & Letters Daily
BBC News
Bloomberg Financial News
British Pathe News Archive
1896 - 1976. newsreels and more
CNN
College News
Columbia Journalism Review
Democracy Now!
Digg
News reference network
Disinformation
Alternative news source
FirstAmendmentCenter.org
Google News
Aggregate news source
How Newsgroups Work
Informed Comment
International News Archives on the Web
Internet Archive: News & Public Affairs
Internet Public Library: Newspapers Online
Library of Congress Moving Picture Archive
many newsreels
Michael Ware
National Public Radio
New York Times
Newsday
Long Island newspaper
NewsJunkie
NewsMax
Thomson Reuters Foundation News
PolitiFact
Pultizer Prize-winning site checks facts reported in political news.
RealClearPolitics
Summaries of latest polling data
Science News
The Huffington Post
The National Review
The Onion
satirical news source
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
White House Press Breifings
WikiNews
YouTube:News

POL 325 Civil Liberties & Civil Rights: Newspaper Articles

Historic Newspaper Collections Online

Current News - Free Fulltext

News Web Sites

Library

Resources

Follow Us