Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Information about the Garcia Program
Helpful Print Books
Lange’s handbook of chemistry
Call Number: Reference - QD65 .L36
Available in the Science and Engineering Library and Chemistry Library.
To search for articles or chemical properties, use the databases listed below.
1969-present. Citations and abstracts. Most comprehensive coverage of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines; began as Engineering Index in 1896. Over 5000 international sources, including journals, conference proceedings, book chapters, etc.
Search biomedical literature from 1950- present. Includes MEDLINE and other resources. Includes links to full-text articles when available.
Web of Science
(Note: does not currently support Internet Explorer 9.) Includes SCIENCE CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1900 - present ), SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1956 - present), and ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX (1975 - present). All subjects are covered. Indexes articles from almost 10,000 journals as well as the citations in the articles indexed. Recent years include abstracts.
1900s-present. Citations & abstracts. Largest substance database with more than 26 million substances, including 12 million organic substances. World's most comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents. The link leads to instructions for accessing the database. Available only to Stony Brook faculty, students, and staff.
Chemical information database including content from the Crossfire databases, Beilstein and Gmelin. Search inorganic, organic or organometallic substances. Reaction, citation and experimental data are available in this database. Some patent information is also available.
2002-present. Site searches over 36 databases and 1,850 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Corresponds to the 89th edition (2009) of the printed book. Coverage of all types of physical science data. Presents the major tables of numerical data in the form of interactive tables. Substances in these tables can be retrieved by searching on name, formula, or CAS Registry Number, and Structure.
A Google tool that limits your search to scholarly, academic or peer-reviewed articles.
For maximum benefit when off-campus:
- Click on Settings in the upper right corner
- Click on Library links on the menu on the left
- Type "Stony Brook" in the Library Links section search box
- Hit Find Library
- Check the box next to Stony Brook University - SUNY - Fulltext @ Stony Brook
Note: Google Scholar does NOT search all our databases.
Head, Science and Engineering
Subjects:Applied Mathematics & Statistics
, Citations & Plagiarism
, Civil Engineering
, Computer Science
, Electrical and Computer Engineering
, Materials Science and Chemical Engineering
, Mechanical Engineering
, Resources for Graduate Students
, Scholarly Communication
, STEM Reference
, Technology & Society