Skip to main content
Stony Brook University Stony Brook University Libraries

SBU: History and Timeline: Home

Information and Resources about the History of Stony Brook University.

Watch the film "Stony Brook's First Alumni: Reunion and Reflections"

From June 6 to June 8, 2014, a reunion weekend was held at Stony Brook University and at Planting Fields at Oyster Bay (first campus), in celebration of the 50th anniversary of the Classes of 1961, 1962, 1963 and 1964, and reuniting the Founders Group, classes of 1961-1966. At Planting Fields, alumni were interviewed about their experiences and reflections of their time at the Oyster Bay campus and transitioning to the new campus in Stony Brook. Photographs from the University Archives are featured in the 16 minute film.

A full weekend of activities was planned and included: viewing an exhibition of archival materials in Special Collections and University Archives; campus tours; a visit to Oyster Bay; and inductions into the newly-established Brook Heritage Society, for alumni who had celebrated their classes' 50th anniversary year.  

About Special Collections and University Archives

Special Collections and University Archives select, acquire, preserve and provide access to rare, valuable, and scarce primary and secondary materials in a variety of formats in support of the educational and research endeavors of Stony Brook University's students, faculty, and staff.

 

Stony Brook University: An Overview

Stony Brook, a comprehensive university center in New York State’s public higher education system, emerged from humbler beginnings as a small, teacher preparatory college in Oyster Bay only fifty years ago.  The Board of Trustees of the State University of New York issued their recommendation for the establishment of a new state-supported and operated college on Long Island on April 15, 1955.

After two years of careful deliberations and intensive planning, SUNY announced the opening of the State University College on Long Island. The Board of Regents authorized William Robertson Coe's exquisite 350-acre former arboretum-estate, Planting Fields, as a temporary campus, while a new campus was prepared in historic Stony Brook, on a 480-acre tract of land donated by philanthropist Ward Melville. The first day of classes commenced on September 17, 1957.
 


One hundred and forty-eight students were enrolled in classes at the tuition-free, State University College on Long Island at Oyster Bay. The College's administrators were served with the mandate to "prepare teachers of science and mathematics for secondary schools and community colleges." Course offerings were initially limited to Humanities, English (Communications), German, Social Sciences, Education, Mathematics, and Natural Science. SUNY expanded the College’s scope a year later to include degree programs in the fields of science, mathematics, and engineering. More...

Baseball Team, 1969

 

View more photographs of the university on the department's new Pinterest site and from the book Stony Brook: State University of New York by Kristen J. Nyitray and Ann M. Becker (Arcadia Publishing, 2002, 2007) on the Libraries' Facebook page.

Department Head & Associate Librarian

Kristen J. Nyitray
Contact:
Head, Special Collections & University Archives
University Archivist
Associate Librarian
E-2320, Melville Library
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3323
t: 631.632.7119
f: 631.632.1829
e: kristen.nyitray@stonybrook.edu
Website / Blog Page