SBU: History and Timeline

State University of New York Bibliographic Checklist

This archival research guide identifies selected titles that document the institutional history and development of State University of New York. 

University of the State of New York 
The University of the State of New York, which was incorporated in 1784, is also known as the Education Department, or State Education Department. It is the body charged with the supervision of the State's entire system of education. The governing body is the Board of Regents. The Commissioner of Education is the President of the University of the State of New York. 

State University of New York 
State University of New York was established in 1948 through legislative implementation of recommendations made by the Temporary Commission on the Need for a State University (1946-1948), chaired by Owen D. Young. SUNY comprises all institutions of higher education that are state supported. The governing body is the Board of Trustees. The Chancellor is the Chief Executive Officer of State University of New York. 

Executive Reports
Berkowitz, David S. Inequality of Opportunity in Higher Education; a Study of Minority Group and Related Barriers to College Admission. A report to the Temporary Commission on the Need for a State University. Albany, NY: Williams Press, 1948. Legislative document (1948) no. 33. [Main LA 337 .B4; Government Documents - Archives J87 .N71] 

New York (State). Temporary Commission on the Need for a State University. Education for the Health Services, by [a committee of consultants] George St. J. Perrott, Chairman.... Albany, NY: Williams Press, 1948. Legislative document (1948) no. 32. [Government Documents - Archives J87 .N71] 

New York (State). Temporary Commission on the Need for a State University. Preliminary Report. Albany, NY: Williams Press, 1947. Legislative document (1947) no. 33. [Government Documents - Archives J87 .N71] 

New York (State). Temporary Commission on the Need for a State University. Report of the Temporary Commission on the Need for a State University. Albany, NY: Williams Press, 1948. Legislative document (1948) no. 30. [Government Documents - Archives J87 .N71] 

Reeves, Floyd Wesley. Matching Needs and Facilities in Higher Education. A report to the Temporary Commission on the Need for a State University. Albany, NY: Williams Press, 1948. Legislative document (1948) no. 31. [Government Documents - Archives J87 .N71] 

Studenski, Paul. Costs and Financing of Higher Education. A report to the Temporary Commission on the Need for a State University. Albany, NY: Williams Press, 1948. Legislative document (1948) no. 34. [Government Documents - Archives J87 .N71] 

State Documents and Reports
McKinsey and company. Report of a Study to Analyze Salary Levels Paid to New York State Employees as They Relate to Salary Levels Paid by Private Employers for Comparable Work. New York, 1961. [Library lacks] 

New York (State). Committee on Higher Education. Meeting the Increasing Demand for Higher Education in New York State. A report to the Governor and the Board of Regents. [Albany, NY: The Commission on Higher Education] 1960. [Referred to as the Heald Report after the Commission's Chairman, Henry T. Heald.] [Main; Arch L182 .C5 1960] 

New York (State). Committee on Higher Education. Special Committee on Medical Education. Education for the Health Professions; a comprehensive plan for comprehensive care to meet New York's needs in an age of change. A report to the Governor and the Board of Regents. [Albany, NY: New York State Education Department] 1963. [Referred to as the Muir Report after the Commission's Chairman, Malcolm Muir.] [Arch R746 .N7 A48 1963a] 

New York (State). Temporary Study Commission to Review Procedures of the State University of New York and the State University Construction Fund. Report of the Temporary Study Commission to Review Procedures of the State University of New York and the State University Construction Fund. Submitted to Governor Nelson A. Rockefeller [and] Chancellor Samuel B. Gould. [Albany, NY: The Commission] 1970. [Arch C-39] 

Wells, Herman B. The Legislature and Higher Education in New York State; a report by the Legislature's consultant on higher education. New York: Academy for Educational Development, 1964. [Main LA337 .W4] 

State University Documents and Reports
Blegen, Theodore C. The Harvests of Knowledge. A Report on Research Potentials and Problems in the State University of New York. Albany: The Research Foundation of State University of New York, 1957. [Main LD3840 .B55] 

Independent Commission on the Future of the State University. The Challenge and the Choice: The State University of New York: Report of the Independent Commission on the Future of the State University. New York: The Commission, 1985. [Referred to as the Davidson-Enarson Report.] [Main Ref; Arch LD3840 .I54 1985] 

The Purpose of the University; a Draft for Deliberation, Improvement, and Possible Adoption by the Chancellor's Panel on the University Purposes, State University of New York. Compiled by John Toll, director of the panel. Albany: State University of New York, 1970. [Main x LB2322 .T6] 

State University of New York. Campus Academic Plans of the Existing and Proposed Campuses of the State University of New York, and Statistical Projections within State University Enrollment Estimates. [Albany, NY?: The University? 1966] [Arch LA337 .N523] 

State University of New York. Chancellor's Panel on University Purposes.[Albany, NY: The University, 1970?] [Arch C-29] 

State University of New York. Proceedings of the ... Symposium Sponsored by State University of New York. (Functions of a Modern University.) Albany, N.Y.: The State University of New York, 1950-51. 2 v. [Main LB2301 .N65] 

State University of New York. SUNY 2000: A Vision for the New Century; A Report from the Board of Trustees and the Chancellor of the State University of New York. [Albany, NY: The Office of the Chancellor, State University of New York, September 1991.] [Main; Arch x LD3839 .A6] 

State University of New York. Origins & Development, State University of New York: Draft Copy, September 1977. [Albany, NY?: The University?] 1977. [Arch LA337 .N554] 

State University of New York. Board of Trustees. Minutes of Meetings. Albany, NY: The University, 1948- . [Main L182 .G5 N58] 

This is the State University of New York: Facts Book. Albany, NY: Office of University Affairs and Development, 1982- . [Ref; Main; Arch LD3840 .A55] 

SUNY 2000, A Vision for the New Century: a report from the Board of Trustees and the Chancellor of the State University of New York. Albany, N.Y.: Office of the Chancellor, SUNY, 1991. [Main; Arch x LD3839 .A6 1991]

Bibliographical and Historical Sources
Carmichael, Oliver Cromwell, Jr. New York Establishes a State University. A Case Study in the Process of Policy Formation. Nashville: Vanderbilt University Press, 1955. [Main LD3840 .C3] [The author's father was Vice-Chairman of the Temporary Commission on the Need for a State University and the first Chairman of the Board of Trustees.]