Skip to main content
Stony Brook University Stony Brook University Libraries

Music Library: Home

The Stony Brook University Music Library information, contact & resources.

Welcome to the Music Library

With nearly 120,000 items, the Stony Brook University Music Library has one of the largest music collections on Long Island. The mission of the Music Library is to “support the teaching, performance and research activities of the University’s Music Department.”

Location:  Melville Library, 1st Floor West Wing, room W-1530
Phone: 631-632-7097
Email: gisele.schierhorst@stonybrook.edu

Music Library Hours

MUSIC LIBRARY

Monday - Thursday: 8:30am - 9:00pm

Friday: 8:30am - 5:00pm

Saturday - Sunday:  2:00pm - 6:00pm

 

Exceptions:

September 3- 5: CLOSED

November 23: Close at 5pm

November 24-26: CLOSED

December 21: Close at 5pm

Browse Top Music Databases

New Databases

RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals indexes over 2,000 journals that address 19th-century music and musical life, and RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals (Full-Text) 

 


Classical Scores Library contains 400,000 pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 25,000 scores. Classical Scores Library Volume II (coming soon) will contain 200,000 pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 10,000 scores. This release includes 586 scores and 17,083 pages.

Harvard Online Resouces for Music Scholars provides a basis for beginning electronic research on a wide variety of topics in music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice. It collects links to archival collections, online scores and sound recordings; article indexes, discographies and bibliographies; scholarly societies; musical reference works; and a miscellany of useful websites.

The Library Music Source database, which provides orchestral parts crucial for auditions and performances, has been added to the collection.

Opera in Video will contain 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.

Bridge: Worldwide Music Connection provides 24 hour online access to 3,000 opportunities in music and arts administration. New listings for auditions, teaching positions, administrative positions, competitions, grants, scholarships, and festivals are posted every day.

Top Picks

Contact Information

Gisele Schierhorst
Contact:
Office: 631-632-7560

Fax: 631-632-7116

Music Library Contact Information

Have questions about borrowing, reserves, your library account or services?  Contact us!

Jennifer DeVito, Head of Access Services
Lisa Miller, Senior Assistant Head of Public Services
Music Circulation Desk - 631.632.7097 

Request a copy of Music Department Concert on CD

Stony Brook University students, faculty and staff may request recordings of musical events held at Stony Brook University.  Please submit the request electronically or stop in at the Music Library to complete a request.  Allow 2-4 weeks for processing.

Emerson String Quartet

G.Schierhorst meets Emerson String Quartet, Staller Center, 2/10/11