Skip to main content
Stony Brook University Libraries
Research & Subject Guides
Bioinformatics, Genetics and Computational Biology
Search this Guide
Bioinformatics, Genetics and Computational Biology: Clinical Genetics
Databases and resources focused on molecular biology, genetics, genomes, and related biological data.
Human Genes and Disease
dbGAP: Genotypes and Phenotypes
Data from genotype/phenotype association studies including genome-wide association (GWAS), medical resequencing, and molecular diagnostic assays
Information on gene structure, expression and function, as well as the relationship of genetic variations and disease; French database
Database of human genes
GTR: Genetic Testing Registry
Directory of genetics tests and laboratories based on voluntary submission; also includes general information on human genetic conditions
HAGR: Human Ageing Genomic Resources
MalaCards: The Human Malady Compendium
Human diseases and their annotations; related to GeneCards.
Information related to human medical genetics
OMIM: Online Mendelian in Man
Curated online catalog of human genes and genetic disorders
OMMBID: Online Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease
Clinical Genome Resource (ClinGen)
National Institutes of Health (NIH)-funded resource dedicated to determining which genetic variants are most relevant to patient care.
NCBI Database focused on the relationships between human variation and phenotypes (observed health status).
Extensive collection of information and links organized by gene.
Infectious Disease Resources
Virus Pathogen Resource
Genomes, genes, proteins, epitopes, 3D structures, host factor data on viruses. Includes an online workbench for data analysis and storage.
Outbreak information worldwide
NORD: National Organization for Rare Disorders
European portal for rare diseases and orphan drugs
NHGRI Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms
Genes and Disease (NCBI Bookshelf)
Genetics Home Reference
NIH site providing consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health
GARD: Genetic and Rare Diseases Information Center
Provides online information in English and Spanish as well as a free information call line
My46 Learning Center
Info on genetics, genetic testing, and medical conditions written for consumers
Genetics and Genomics for Patients and the Public
Information from the NHGRI
dbRBC: Red Blood Cells
DNA and clinical data related to human Red Blood Cells (RBC)
Jan 3, 2020 10:54 AM
Login to LibApps
- Health Sciences
• Request a Class
• Hours & Locations
• Ask a Librarian
• Special Collections
• Library Faculty & Staff
• Stony Brook Home
• Campus Maps
Comments or Suggestions?
-- | --
Except where otherwise noted, this work by
is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License