Skip to main content


Stony Brook University

SBU: History and Timeline: Bibliography: SBU

Information and Resources about the History of Stony Brook University.

Bibliography: Stony Brook University

Stony Brook University was established by the State University of New York Board of Trustees in 1956 as the State University College on Long Island and opened its doors in temporary quarters at the William Robertson Coe (1869-1955) Planting Fields Estate in Oyster Bay, Long Island, in 1957. Ground for this state-operated campus was broken at the Stony Brook site in 1960 and the first buildings were occupied in 1962. The move to the new campus was completed in 1963. The advisory body for State University of New York at Stony Brook is the Stony Brook Council. The President is the chief executive officer of the University.

This research guide identifies selected titles that document the institutional history and development of Stony Brook University. 

In addition to books, published reports and official documents, the University Archives includes academic guides, announcements, bulletins, class schedules, commencement programs, directories, dormitory guides, newsletters, newspapers, telephone books, yearbooks, and other formal and informal publications by the University and its students, staff, faculty, and administration. 

These form a part of a continually growing collection that documents the history of Stony Brook University.

Links to electronic resources have been provided, when available.

Books

Gelber, Sidney. Politics and Public Higher Education in New York State: Stony Brook-- A Case History. New York: P. Lang, 2001. [Copies in the Main Stacks and Archives: LC175.N5 G45 2001]

Nyitray, Kristen J and Ann M. Becker. Stony Brook: State University of New York. Charleston, S.C.: Arcadia Publishing, 2002. [Copies in the Main Stacks (Cage Collection), Archives, Reference Desk, and Special Collections: LD3840.S8 N94 2002]

Rosenthal, Joel. From the Ground Up: A History of the State University of New York at Stony Brook. Port Jefferson, NY: 116 Press, 2004. [Copies in the Main Stacks, Archives, and Special Collections: LD3840.S8 R6 2004]

Campus Newspapers and Publications