Skip to main content
Stony Brook University Libraries
Research & Subject Guides
Bioinformatics, Genetics and Computational Biology
Search this Guide
Bioinformatics, Genetics and Computational Biology: Proteins
Databases and resources focused on molecular biology, genetics, genomes, and related biological data.
Entrez Protein (AKA GenPept)
NCBI's comprehensive, international collection of protein sequences
EMBL-EBI's comprehensive, international collection of protein sequences. Composed of two sections: Swiss-Prot and TrEMBL.
Focused on Human Proteins.
Protein Information Resources (PIR)
Protein Sequences and Annotation
Patent Protein Sequences (EMBL-EBI)
Non-redundant set of patent protein sequences from the European, Japanese, Korean, and US Patent Offices.
Protein Domains and Families
Human and Drosophila centrosomal genes and proteins
Conserved Domains Database (CDD)
Entrez Protein Clusters
Structural protein motifs at family & superfamily level.
Nuclear-encoded mitochondrial genes/proteins in Metazoa
NCBI COGs: Clusters of Orthologous Groups
Phylogenetic classification of proteins encoded in complete genomes
NPD: Nuclear Protein Database
Nuclear Receptor Resource
Nuclear receptor family of ligand-activated transcription factors
Protein families represented as multiple seq alignments or HMMs
Database of protein domains, families and functional sites
SMART: Simple Modular Architecture Research Tool
Identification and annotation of genetically mobile domains and the analysis of domain architectures
TOPdb: Topology Databank of Transmembrane Proteins
See the page on
in this Guide.
Database of protein post-translational modifications.
PHOSIDA: Postranslational Modification Database
Protein phosphorylation, acetylation, and N-glycosylation data
Protein posttranslational modifications including phosphorylation, ubiquitination, acetylation and methylation
Protein Amino- and Carboxy- Termini and protease processing
Binding affinities of proteins with small drug-like molecules.
Protein-Protein Docking Program
LocDB: Protein Localization Database for Human and Arabidopsis
Provides links to the PSORT family of programs for subcellular localization prediction as well as other datasets and resources relevant to localization prediction.
ELM: Eukaryotic Linear Motif
Functional Site Prediction
Genome Workbench (NCBI)
App for viewing and analyzing sequence data, including NCBI databases and private data.
Occurrence of HomoRepeats and Patterns in Eukaryotic and Bacterial Proteomes
Protein sequence analysis and classification
MnM 3.0 - Minimotif Miner
Analyze protein sequences for peptide motifs with known functions
Predicts subcellular localization and GO molecular function of proteins
ProTeus (Protein Terminus)
A tool for identification of short linear signatures in protein termini
Data on amino acids and their mutations.
REBASE: The Restriction Enzyme Database
Proteomics data including protein and peptide identifications, post-translational modifications and supporting spectral evidence.
Nucleic Acids >>
Jan 3, 2020 10:54 AM
Login to LibApps
- Health Sciences
• Request a Class
• Hours & Locations
• Ask a Librarian
• Special Collections
• Library Faculty & Staff
• Stony Brook Home
• Campus Maps
Comments or Suggestions?
-- | --
Except where otherwise noted, this work by
is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License