Research & Subject Guides: HIS 441: Dancing Through American History: HOME

How To Use This Guide

Hello! This guide is designed to enhance your research. It provides tools & tips for researchers, and brings together selections of excellent resources. Use the tab menu at the top of the page to access:

books
articles & databases
reference
primary sources
citations and plagiarism

If you need help or have a comment you can contact me -- my information is on the right sidebar.

Related Subject Guides

History
by Chris Filstrup Last Updated Oct 12, 2022 470 views this year
Primary Sources
by Kristen J. Nyitray Last Updated Sep 23, 2022 530 views this year
Dance
by Reference Librarian Last Updated Jul 4, 2022 52 views this year
Using the Internet for Historical Research
by Chris Filstrup Last Updated Apr 18, 2022 298 views this year

Top Picks

JSTOR
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
Project MUSE
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.

Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
MLA International Bibliography
1920s-present. Citations and selected fulltext from over 4,400 journals and 1,000 book publishers. Covers literature, linguistics, folklore, cultural studies, literary theory, film, rhetoric and composition. The definitive resource for modern, peer-reviewed literary criticism.
New York Times (Historical)
Coverage: 1851-3 years ago.

Online access to page images and fulltext articles from the New York Times as far back as the first issue.
American Periodicals
Fulltext. 1741-1930. Over 1,100 American magazines spanning 200 years and covering nearly every aspect of American culture, especially its history, science, literature, music, legal structures, agriculture, theater, and politics. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine (first published in 1741) and America's first scientific journals, Medical Repository, as well as Scientific American, to literary and professional journals, specialized titles, and such well-known popular magazines as Vanity Fair, Ladies' Home Journal and The Dial.
African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
1827-1998. Full-text. Online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman's Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.