Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Language Practice and Resources
HarperCollins Robert French Dictionary by
Call Number: Main Library Reference Dictionary Stand PC2640 .C69 2002
Publication Date: 2002-06-01
The HarperCollins Robert is simply the best French dictionary you can buy. Here's why: Over 820,000 entries and translations, completely revised and updated. The HarperCollins Robert goes with you into the twenty-first century. With complete coverage of contemporary terms in business, technology, politics, culture, and medicine, the HarperCollins Robert is the most authoritative single-volume French-English dictionary available.More up-to-date: The HarperCollins Robert is compiled in conjunction with the leading dictionary pubfisher in France and updated on a regular basis. The dictionary is highly praised for its accuracy, especially in the notoriously slippery area of French slang.More colloquial usage than any other French dictionary: With its emphasis on current French and English, extensive cross-referencing, and an in-depth guide to usage of idioms and phrases, the HarperCollins Robert has triple the breadth of its competitors.More effective guidance: The HarperCollins Robert contains a seventy-six-page Language in Use section designed to facilitate self-expression in the foreign language and a comprehensive system of style labels that identifies whether a word is formal, informal, literary, vulgar, dated, or euphemistic.
The Concise Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary by
Call Number: Electronic Access
Publication Date: 2000-07-27
Based on the highly acclaimed Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary, described by the Independent as `revolutionary', this dictionary provides students at intermediate level with an authoritative guide to French language and culture. The result of ground-breaking developments in bilingualdictionary-making, it is compiled entirely from the evidence of vast electronic databanks of every type of written and spoken French and English.* The only Concise French dictionary compiled from real French* Detailed in-text boxes, covering topics such as numbers, nationalities, measurements, games and sports, and forms of address, review and summarize the function and usage of the vocabulary and word patterns of those essential language areas* An entirely new thematic wordfinder covers all the essential vocabulary in key topics required by the regional exam boards and is specially designed as a reference section for writing* Includes a new guide to email and the Internet giving a unique gateway to French culture
Old French-English Dictionary by
Call Number: MAIN PC2891 .H56 2000
Publication Date: 2000-08-31
This is the first Old French-English dictionary of its kind to provide a comprehensive reference tool for a broad range of English-speaking users including students, scholars, philologists and historians. This manageable, single-volume, dictionary is based on a large and varied number of texts up to ca. 1350, starting from the "classics" of medieval French literature and extending through all the genres: epic, romance, religious, moral, didactic and allegorical texts, lyric poetry, drama, humor and satire, as well as nonliterary historical, political and legal documents.
The Oxford French Business Dictionary by
Call Number: Electronic Access
Publication Date: 2002-11-28
This is an ideal dictionary for students taking French in combination with a business qualification at college or university or for anyone doing business in the French-speaking world. It provides an exhaustive range of business vocabulary across many core areas, giving the most extensivecoverage on the market of e-commerce and Internet-related terms. Detailed treatment of all vocabulary items is provided, along with thousands of example phrases illustrating important constructions. The extensive supplementary material offers sample business correspondence, including faxes, emails,and invoices; CVs; lists of countries, nationalities, languages, and currencies; and guidance on using the telephone.
Reference and History
Langue du XIXe siècle
This is a portal with links to transcriptions of nineteenth-century grammatical treatises and other reference works.
The Story of French by
Call Number: Main Library Stacks PC2075 .N33 2006
Publication Date: 2006-11-14
Why does everything sound better if it's said in French? That fascination is at the heart of The Story of French, the first history of one of the most beautiful languages in the world that was, at one time, the pre-eminent language of literature, science and diplomacy. Nadeau and Barlow chart the history of a language spoken as a native tongue by 130 million people around the globe. The first document written in the French was signed by the sons of Charlemagne in 832. After this, Latin was purged from the courts of France by Francois 1st, giving root to French speakers' 21st century obsession with language protection. The obsession progressed as Cardinal Richelieu established the French Academy, a group entrusted with the responsibility of keeping the language pure and eloquent. As French circled the globe, the international cast of characters included Montaigne, Catherine the Great, Frederic II of Prussia, the guides of the Lewis and Clark expedition, Jules Verne, and others. Let Nadeau and Barlow guide you through the story of a language used to write some of the world's great masterpieces of literature, construct some of the most important documents of diplomacy, bedevil millions with its vagaries of pronunciation and beguile everyone with its beauty.