Skip to main content


Stony Brook University

EGL Honors 494: Home

Fall 2020 Library Operations

Check our Fall 2020 Library Operations guide for the latest updates on services and resources.

Advanced Database Searching

The top databases for literary criticism & research are listed below. Need more specialized research help? Contact Kate Kasten (kathleen.kasten@stonybrook.edu) or Darren Chase (darren.chase@stonybrook.edu).


FIRST, DOWNLOAD ZOTERO

Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share research.

Literature Online (LION)

Coverage spans 1280 - present. Criticisms are published from 1884-present.

Search criticisms by author -- authors from 8th century to present day.

ex: Aesop (view texts and criticisms)

Search criticisms by general subject -- criticisms published from 1884 - present.

Search texts -- includes a library of 350,000 texts from 1477 - present day.

 

 

JSTOR

Coverage as early as the 1600s until 1 year ago. Archive of scholarly journals (scanned pages).

Excellent resource for scholarly articles in a variety of disciplines. Criticisms can be found by searching ["title of work" literary criticism] in search bar.

 

Literature Resource Center

Date coverage varies. Critical essays searchable by work or author. Featured Authors & Featured Works

Search criticisms by author 

ex: Margaret Atwood 

Search criticisms by work

ex: Frankenstein

Topic finder (words most frequently used in articles about an author or work)

Term frequency (how often and author or work is mentioned over a period of time)

About the Libraries

About the Libraries

Our collection includes over 2 million books and e-books, over 100,000 e-journals; over 600 databases, and another 3.8 million titles in microforms.

Interlibrary Loan - loan sharing program with libraries around the world. You can request items that we don't have. It's free!

The North Reading Room (Science & Engineering Library), Central Reading Room, and Music Library are on the 1st floor of Melville Library. The Main Stacks entrance is on the 3rd floor. There are several Branch Libraries on campus as well.

Special Collections & University Archives is located on the 2nd floor of Melville Library. Schedule an appointment to see the extensive collection of manuscripts, rare books, newspapers, and more.

The Health Sciences Library is located on the East Campus. You have access to their collection, both in print and online.

Getting Help

Libraries & Hours

Resources for Students

Ask Us

Email: Library_Reference@stonybrook.edu

Phone: 631-632-7148.

Liaison Librarian Directory