It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fulltext. Collection of e-books that gather critical research, analytical, and policymaking reference works on subjects ranging from ecological risk assessment and environmental toxicology to GIS, remote sensing, and industrial hygiene.
Fulltext access to selected scholarly journals and e-books. Citations and abstracts for books and journals outside of SBU's fulltext subscription. Covers all disciplines with emphasis in the sciences (including medicine) and social sciences.
Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection.
Note: Effective January 1, 2016, ScienceDirect will no longer support Internet Explorer 8 (IE8). Compatibility mode in IE9 or higher reverts the browser back to IE7 or IE8 behavior. If you experience issues accessing ScienceDirect using IE9 or higher, please disable the compatibility view mode in your IE browser.
Note2: Effective December 2016, Science Direct will also no longer support Internet Explorer 9.
Date coverage varies back to the 1940s. Some full-text. Deep coverage in areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Providing robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, this collection, which includes nearly 200 journals, provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
C40 is a network of the world’s megacities taking action to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. With a unique set of assets, the C40 works with participating cities to address climate risks and impacts locally and globally.
Analyzes myriad human-initiated processes and tools developed to foster sustainable natural resource use, preservation, and restoration. It also examines how humans interact with plant, marine, and animal life in both natural and human-altered environments.
A selection of eJournals for research in sustainability and environmental studies. Many eJournals are available in multiple databases; for complete holdings information, use the eJournals search tool to the left of this list.
Agriculture, Ecosystems & Environment publishes scientific articles dealing with the interface between agroecosystems and the natural environment, specifically how agriculture influences the environment and how changes in that environment impact agroecosystems. ONLINE: 01/02/1983 - Date, ScienceDirect
Bioresource Technology publishes original articles, review articles, case studies and short communications on the fundamentals, applications and management of bioresource technology. ONLINE: 12/01/1995 - Date ScienceDirect
ONLINE: 1997 - Date, InformaWorld. An international journal of theory and politics. Key themes are the dialectics of human and natural history; labor and land; workplace struggles and community struggles; economics and ecology; and the politics of ecology and ecology of politics.
Environmental Science and Policy promotes communication among government, business and industry, academia, and non-governmental organisations who are instrumental in the solution of environmental problems. ONLINE: 1998 - Date, ScienceDirect
Global Environmental Change: Human and Policy Dimensions is an international, interdisciplinary journal spanning the social and natural sciences. It publishes high-quality original theoretical and applied research and review articles across the entire field of global environmental change. ONLINE: 3/1/1995 - Date, ScienceDirect
1869-Present. Fulltext and PDF since 1950; Archive in PDF. Covers all fields of science and technology. Most-cited weekly science journal. Features podcasts of a weekly science show, a news blog, and videos in which authors discuss their research.
an international and cross-disciplinary, scholarly, Open Access journal of environmental, cultural, economic and social sustainability of human beings, which provides an advanced forum for studies related to sustainability and sustainable development ONLINE: 2009 - Date, Open Access Journals
Site for accessing EPA publications, covering more than 7,000 in stock and 31,000 digital titles. EPA's print publications are available through the National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP), and EPA's digital publications are stored in the National Environmental Publications Internet Site (NEPIS) database.
"Earth is a complex, dynamic system we do not yet fully understand. The Earth system, like the human body, comprises diverse components that interact in complex ways. We need to understand the Earth's atmosphere, lithosphere, hydrosphere, cryosphere, and biosphere as a single connected system."
1964-present. Citations and abstracts. The National Technical Information Service catalog covers: business and management studies, health and safety reports, environmental research reports and site clean-up, technology innovations, international market reports, and training tools and materials.
The Planning Department is responsible for the following:
* serving as staff to the Suffolk County Planning Commission; * preparation of a comprehensive plan; * provision of assistance to localities, including demographics and economic research, environmental studies and special studies; The Planning Department participates on the Environmental Trust Fund Review Board, Dredging Project Screening Committee, County Farmland Committee, the County Sewer Agency and Ag