Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Stony Brook University

CEE 601 Pece: Early Adolescent Development

Course guide for Dr. Peter Pece's CEE 601 Course.

Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles

Need help figuring out what these types of articles are? See the Research Tutorials tab.

Many databases provide filters to limit your results to only scholarly articles. These filters may be refered to as Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed or Refereed Articles. Instructors at the university are often expecting you to use these types of resources for your assignments.

Research Starter

SEARCH Everything

Searches research databases, journals, our catalogs, and more | HELP

Google Scholar

A Google tool that limits your search to scholarly, academic or peer-reviewed articles.

For maximum benefit when off-campus:

  • Click on Settings in the upper right corner
  • Click on Library links on the menu on the left
  • Type "Stony Brook" in the Library Links section search box
  • Hit Find Library
  • Check the box next to Stony Brook University - SUNY - Fulltext @ Stony Brook

Note: Google Scholar does NOT search all our databases. 

Google Scholar Search

Recommended Databases

Databases listed in approximate order of usefulness.

Databases

The Library has over 300 databases.  From the Library Homepage, click on Databases A-Z

You can search for databases two ways:

  • Search by Title: Click on the letter of the alphabet.  Example: click on “J” for JSTOR.
  • Browse By Subject: From the dropdown menu, choose a subject area, such as Music, or English & American Lit, etc.  You’ll get a list of databases that should be useful in that subject area.

Searching Multiple Databases Search numerous databases from various vendors at the same time.

Use the ARTICLES search box on the library homepage for 10 large, general databases.

Alerts: Many databases allow you to create alerts.  You will need to set up an account.

  • For searches – In EBSCO databases, click on “Search History and Alerts”
  • For new issues of a journal – In EBSCO, click on the journal title, then “Journal Alert”

Don't Have It?

Interlibrary Loan