Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Core Databases: Finding Journal Articles and More
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Date coverage varies. Citations and fulltext. Covers the nursing and allied health literature, providing fulltext for more than 620 journals.
An enhanced version of MD Consult including over 1,000 books, 500 journals, multimedia, patient education materials and other content across 12 distinct content types. Access to the point-of-care content from First Consult is also provided.
A mobile version of this resource is also available.
1999-present. This collection of databases contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
Embase is a crucial resource for discovering biomedical evidence within published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts. An essential database for systematic reviews.
MEDLINE (Ebsco) with full text
Date coverage varies. Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
Search biomedical literature from 1950- present. Includes MEDLINE and other resources. Includes links to full-text articles when available.
Web of Science
(Note: does not currently support Internet Explorer 9.) Includes SCIENCE CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1900 - present ), SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1956 - present), and ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX (1975 - present). All subjects are covered. Indexes articles from almost 10,000 journals as well as the citations in the articles indexed. Recent years include abstracts.
Databases for Clinical Information
Date coverage varies. Searches the full text content of numerous medical textbooks including Harrison’s Online, Hurst’s The Heart, and Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery.
This resource also has a mobile format available.
DynaMed® is a premiere clinical information resource used by physicians to answer clinical questions quickly and easily at the point of care. It includes thousands of topics that provide clinicians and educators with the evidence-based information they need to make informed decisions. Topics are updated daily as new evidence becomes available.
1978-present. Text-based monographs encompass more than 50 fields of clinically-significant pharmacology detail, applicable to many areas of specialization. NOTE: You may receive a "Subscription Expired" message within 30 days of installing the app. This is only alerting you that the 30-day trial you downloaded initially has expired. Your subscription has not expired and will be completely functional after this period.
Drug and dosage information, toxicological substances, patient information databases, and other data to support clinical care decisions.
Mobile version available.
Free resources added in June 2013. 1997-present. A clinical search engine designed to allow clinicians to quickly find answers to their clinical questions using the best available evidence by simultaneously searching multiple sites. To access Stony Brook University resources, login and edit your profile (via the 'settings' button) and select the institution from the drop-down menu. Next, save settings and then search. The full text links appear below the titles of primary research articles only.
1992-present. A full-text clinical resource that provides instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked questions in clinical practice. Specialities covered include adult primary care, cardiology, family practice, gynecology, infectious diseases, oncology, pediatrics, women's health, and others.
VisualDx is a clinical decision support tool. It has nearly 1,200 visually presented conditions and over 22,000 medical images. The system will build a custom differential diagnosis for the clinical staff as they enter specific findings about the patient. (SUBSCRIPTION OF THE "REGIONAL RESOURCE CENTER FOR EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS AT STONY BROOK".