Research & Subject Guides: Applied Economics: Find Articles

Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles

Need help figuring out what these types of articles are? See the Research Tutorials tab.

Many databases provide filters to limit your results to only scholarly articles. These filters may be refered to as Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed or Refereed Articles. Instructors at the university are often expecting you to use these types of resources for your assignments.

Databases for Economics

Databases are collections of online information (articles, both scholarly and popular, books, conference proceedings, company information, etc.) organized for easy keyword, subject, author and other types of searching.

These are subscription resources paid for in part by student fees and as such are acceptable resources for college level research.

JSTOR
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
Project MUSE
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.

Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
Web of Science
(Note: does not currently support Internet Explorer 9.) Includes SCIENCE CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1900 - present ), SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1956 - present), and ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX (1975 - present). All subjects are covered. Indexes articles from almost 10,000 journals as well as the citations in the articles indexed. Recent years include abstracts.
Annual Reviews
Published annually. Critical reviews written by leading scientists in the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Access Note: SBU has partial access to this resource
Business Source Complete
Coverage dates vary, in some cases as far back as 1886. Selected full text. This scholarly business database includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals.
Conference Board: Business Knowledge Research
1998-present. Research Reports on key business and economic topics such as executive compensation annual studies. Includes the Conference Board Review magazine
GreenFILE
1970s - present. Mostly abstracts; some full text. Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Publications
Disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.
Nexis Uni
Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online
Current (updated quarterly). Full text dictionary. Contains 1,872 articles relevant to the field of Economics. The Dictionary offers non-economists the opportunity to find more information on issues that impact on them or to enhance their knowledge of a particular subject area from an economic perspective.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Full text access to selected Oxford University Press books. Please note that we do not have full text access when the "locked" image appears next to the title.
PAIS Index
1915-present. Citations to articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents and other material in the area of public affairs. Subjects include business, government, international relations, environment, health, social sciences, law, political science, education, and statistics.
IDEAS
Date coverage varies. Citations and abstracts. Research Papers in Economics database of working papers (244,000), journal articles (356,000), book and chapter listings (3,700) and software components (1,600) from 63 countries.