Research & Subject Guides: German Studies: Journals & Databases

Databases by Title and Subject

Browse our full selection of databases by title or subject. If you are accessing this site from off-campus, you will be prompted for your Net ID and password.

A-Z Databases

Select Databases

Academic Search Complete
Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
Gale Literature
Provides access and simultaneous cross searching of four Gale literary databases: Contemporary Authors Online, Gale Virtual Reference Library (selected literary content), Literature Resource Center - LRC, and LitFinder. Gale Literary Sources also allows researchers to visualize search data by term frequency. Researchers can search all four databases at once using this portal, or access each individually. Gale Literary Sources includes Topic Finder and Gale Literary Index.
Humanities Source
Full-text for scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
Fulltext. Topic-based, encyclopedic coverage of literary criticism, theory and history, mostly as long essays written by over 275 leading scholars. Includes bibliographies.
JSTOR
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
Literature Online (LION)
1280-present. Fulltext. Fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, from 1280 to the present day. Also contains 333 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. With all 38 of Shakespeare's plays in dramatised audio recordings and nearly 900 Poets on Screen filmed readings.
MLA International Bibliography
1920s-present. Citations and selected fulltext from over 4,400 journals and 1,000 book publishers. Covers literature, linguistics, folklore, cultural studies, literary theory, film, rhetoric and composition. The definitive resource for modern, peer-reviewed literary criticism.
Project MUSE
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.

Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection

Find Journals

Journals Search Home | HELP

Select Journals

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Remember - if we don't have an article or a book at Stony Brook that you need, you can order it free of charge through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.

We will request a copy from another library.

Request an item or set up an account.

Note: Textbooks are not available through this service.

Google Scholar

A Google tool that limits your search to scholarly, academic or peer-reviewed articles.

For maximum benefit when off-campus:

Click on Settings in the upper right corner
Click on Library links on the menu on the left
Type "Stony Brook" in the Library Links section search box
Hit Find Library
Check the box next to Stony Brook University - SUNY - Fulltext @ Stony Brook

Note: Google Scholar does NOT search all our databases.

German Studies: Journals & Databases

Databases by Title and Subject

Select Databases

Find Journals

Select Journals

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Google Scholar

Library

Resources

Follow Us