Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cambridge Klett Comprehensive German Dictionary by
Call Number: North Reading Room Reference x PF3640 .C36 2002
Publication Date: 2003-01-16
This new German/English bilingual dictionary contains 350,000 words and phrases together with 560,000 translations, covering all types of language from the everyday to specialised vocabulary (business, finance, law and IT), from colloquial to poetic.
The Oxford Paperback German Dictionary and Grammar by
Call Number: North Reading Room Reference PF3640 .P7 1995
Publication Date: 1995-10-26
Containing all the same features as The Oxford Paperback French Dictionary and Grammar, the German provides over 50,000 words and phrases and over 70,000 translations.
Pocket Oxford German Dictionary by
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2009-07-09
Authoritative and up-to-date, the new fourth edition of the Pocket Oxford German Dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary German and English. Hundreds of new words from German and English have been added from computing and technology to healthand lifestyle, based on findings from Oxford's English and German language Reading Programmes.More than just a dictionary, this handy reference book also includes extensive sections on grammar, culture, and communication giving you the tools you need to communicate effectively and understand aspects of another culture. The grammar supplement provides full information on key points of Germangrammar, including verb tables for quick reference. The section on culture offers lively and useful information on life in the German-speaking world, covering everything from political institutions to how weddings are celebrated. The communication supplement gives help with all types ofcorrespondence, including example letters, emails, CVs and resumes, and a guide to text messaging. Also new to this edition is a brand-new section on the internet and online services.The Pocket Oxford German Dictionary is the perfect reference for student and adult learners needing an affordable, portable dictionary.
Other German Language Reference
Constructional Approaches to Syntactic Structures in German by
Call Number: MAIN PF3361 .C66 2018
Publication Date: 2018-07-09
This book provides a state of the art collection of constructional research on syntactic structures in German. The volume is unique in that it offers an easily accessible, yet comprehensive and sophisticated variety of papers. Moreover, various of the papers make explicit connections between grammatical constructions and the concept of valency which has figured quite prominently in Germanic Linguistics over the past half century.
The German-Speaking World: A Practical Introduction to Sociolinguistic Issues by
Call Number: MAIN PF3073 .S773 1997
Publication Date: 1997-06-27
This accessible textbook offers students the opportunity to explore for themselves a wide range of sociolinguistic issues relating to the German language and its role in societies around the world. It is written for undergraduate students who have a sound practical knowledge of German but who have little or no knowledge of linguistics or sociolinguistics. It combines text with practical exercises and discussion questions to stimulate readers to think for themselves and to tackle specific problems. In Part One Patrick Stevenson invites readers to investigate and reflect on issues about the status and function of the German language in relation to its speakers and to speakers of other languages with which it comes into contact. In Part Two the focus shifts to the forms and functions of individual features of the language. This involves, for example, identifying features of regional speech forms, analysing similarities and differences between written and spoken German, or looking at the 'social meaning' underlying different forms of address. Part Three explores the relationship between the German language and the nature of 'Germanness'. It concentrates on people's attitudes towards the language, the ways in which it is changing, and their views on what it represents for them.
Online Language Reference
Podcasts for German Language Learners