Research & Subject Guides: Science and Civilization in China: eBooks

Spotlight e-Books

America's Global Image Remains More Positive than China's; But Many See China Becoming World's Leading Power
A report of the survey conducted in 39 countries on global image of China and U.S.. Published by Pew Research Center, July 18, 2013.

Ancient Worlds, Modern Reflections: Philosophical Perspectives on Greek and Chinese Science and Culture by Geoffrey Lloyd; Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780199270163
Publication Date: 2004-04-08
e-book.
Biology and Biological Technology : Medicine by Joseph Needham; Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 9780521632621
Publication Date: 2000-04-13
The latest volume in Joseph Needham's magisterial revelation of China's premodern scientific and technological traditions introduces medicine. It is available as e-book.
China and the WTO by Petros C. Mavroidis; Andre Sapir
ISBN: 0691206600
Publication Date: Princeton University Press, 2021-01-05
China's Environment and the Challenge of Sustainable Development by Kristen A. Day; M.E. Sharpe, Inc.
ISBN: 9780765620057
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
e-book.

Cambridge Histories Online
Full-Text. Over 300 volumes of the renowned Cambridge Histories series covering History; Economic History; History of Science (including Modern Biological and Earth Sciences and Modern Physical and Mathematical Sciences); Language and Linguistics; Law; Literary Studies; Music; Philosophy; Political and Social Theory; Religious Studies; Theatre Studies and Performing Arts; and Warfare. In addition to substantial sets on American, British and European History, the collection also contains major works on the Histories of Africa, Egypt, India, Iran, Japan, Latin America, Russia, Southeast Asia, Turkey and the 15-volume Cambridge History of China.

Digital National Security Archive
1942-present. Fulltext. Over 63,000 of the most important declassified documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Includes presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, White House communications, email, confidential letters and other secret material.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
A growing collection of nearly 3000 online, open access scholarly books. The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.

Gutenberg-e
Fulltext. E-books on historical studies published by Columbia University Press and the American Historical Association. Each e-book offers extensive documentation, hyperlinks to supplementary literature, images, music, video, search feature, and links to related web sites.

HathiTrust Digital Library
Over 8 million digitized items, including more than 2 million public domain books available for free. HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries.
National Academic Press
Full access to more than 4,000 titles in PDF format. The National Academies Press publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy.

Ebsco eBooks Collection
Fulltext. Access to over 1,700 eBooks covering a wide range of topics.

Oral History Online
- a comprehensive index of oral history collections in English. It contains more than 100,000 index entries and more than a million tags to collections, interviews, repositories, interviews with ful text, audio or video. Includes collections for China, Japan, Korea dn Asia.
Oxford Reference Online:Premium
Current/Regularly updated. A fulltext reference collection that includes facts, figures, definitions, and translations from over 175 Oxford dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, guides, encyclopedias, and the "Oxford Companions" series.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Full text access to selected Oxford University Press books. Please note that we do not have full text access when the "locked" image appears next to the title.