Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for Articles
If you need to find articles on a topic, start with one of the databases below. Database information on this page is useful if you need to start research on a topic, but don't know what's been published on it. If you need to find a specific journal title, search one of the eJournal lists on the right. eJournal information on this page is useful if you want to browse a particular journal, rather than a specific topic.
Need help figuring out what these types of articles are? See the Research Tutorials tab.
Many databases provide filters to limit your results to only scholarly articles. These filters may be refered to as Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed or Refereed Articles. Instructors at the university are often expecting you to use these types of resources for your assignments.
Selected Research Databases
See our full list of databases by title and subject.
America: History & Life (EBSCO)
1964-present. Citations and abstracts. History and culture of the U.S. & Canada, from prehistory to the present. 1,700 academic journals in more than 40 languages, as well as books and dissertations.
Dissertations & Theses Global
Fulltext and citations. Contains 1.2 million full-text dissertations, including most dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Includes 2.7 million citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day.
Gender Studies Database
1972-present. Fulltext, citations and abstracts. Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases, covering the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship. Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, government reports, theses & dissertations and other sources.
1970-present. Fulltext. Covers perspectives on the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Sources include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and government reports.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
1955-present. Citations and abstracts. History of the world (excluding the U.S. & Canada) from 1450 to the present. Military history, women's history, and history of education. 1,700 academic journals in over 40 languages.
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.
Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
Social Sciences Citation Index
1956-present. Part of the Web of Science. Cited reference searching finds articles that have cited a previously published work, making it possible to see the impact of that work and its author on subsequent research.
SocINDEX with Full Text
1895-present. Sociology research encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Contains fulltext for 428 "core" journals from 1908-present, and 163 "priority" journals. Abstracts for more than 845 "core" journals as far back as 1895. Also includes fulltext for more than 735 books and monographs, and fulltext for 6,785 conference papers.
A Google tool that limits your search to scholarly, academic or peer-reviewed articles.
For maximum benefit:
- Click on Scholar Preferences
- Type "Stony Brook" in the Library Links section search box
- Check the box next to Stony Brook University - SUNY - Fulltext @ Stony Brook
A selection of eJournal collections for research in sociology and social sciences. Many eJournals are available in multiple databases; for complete holdings information, use the eJournals search tool to the left of this list.