Research & Subject Guides: SOC 330: Media & Society: Home

Librarian

Gisele Schierhorst

Email Me

Contact:

Office: 631-632-7560

Fax: 631-632-7116

Subjects: Africana Studies, Music, Sociology

Off-Campus Access

Use your NetID and password to access library resources when off-campus.

Related Research Guides

Anthropology
by Reference Librarian Last Updated Nov 14, 2023 213 views this year
Sociology
by Gisele Schierhorst Last Updated Oct 17, 2023 104 views this year
Economics
by Reference Librarian Last Updated Nov 16, 2023 487 views this year
Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies (WGSS)
by Jennifer DeVito Last Updated Oct 23, 2023 255 views this year
News Sources
by Reference Librarian Last Updated Nov 20, 2023 878 views this year
Citation Guides
by Clara Tran Last Updated Nov 9, 2023 24785 views this year
History
by Reference Librarian Last Updated Oct 2, 2023 759 views this year

Welcome

Use this guide to:

Find articles & search research databases
Find books
Get help with your research
Discover citation tools

If you need help contact us! Our contact information is on the left sidebar.

Research Starter

SEARCH Everything

Searches research databases, journals, our catalogs, and more | HELP

Searching Tips

Searching tips to narrow or broaden results

Boolean operators

(can be in source) twitter OR facebook
(must be in source) social media AND activism
(must not be in source) media NOT television

Quotes: “occupy wall street”
Parenthesis: (twitter OR facebook) AND activism
Truncation: “social media” AND politic* [politic, political, politics, politically]
Other limiters:

source (scholarly, popular),
subject/thesaurus: genetically modified organisms -> transgenic organisms
date,
full-text,
document type/primary/secondary (article, review, report, interview, statistics, map, image, video)

Top Picks

SocINDEX with Full Text
1895-present. Sociology research encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Contains fulltext for 428 "core" journals from 1908-present, and 163 "priority" journals. Abstracts for more than 845 "core" journals as far back as 1895. Also includes fulltext for more than 735 books and monographs, and fulltext for 6,785 conference papers.
JSTOR
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
Project MUSE
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.

Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
1600-2000. Fulltext primary sources. Women's reform activities in the U.S. from colonial times to the present. Includes books, pamphlets, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies.
Academic Search Complete
Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.

SOC 330: Media & Society