Research & Subject Guides: Patent & Trademark Resources on the Web: Searching US Patent Databases

Nearest Patent & Trademark Resource Center

Long Island's only Patent & Trademark Resource Center (PTRC) was moved from the Stony Brook University Libraries to the Smithtown Public Library in the Fall of 2012. Community patrons are encouraged to seek assistance at the Smithtown Public Library PTRC.

U.S. Patent Office Search Databases

U.S. Issued Patents and Published Applications
Are two separate databases and are searched separately. Issued patents are available from 1789-present and published applications are available since March 2001.
7 Step Search Strategy - (USPTO - PTRC)
Provides a brief one page guide to searching and reviewing patents. It is focused on USPTO databases

Specialized Patent Office Databases

Patent Application Information System (PAIR)
Gives status of an issued patent or published application and its history.
Patent Assignments Database
Shows assignor and assignee data changes after issued patents and published applications.
Publication Site for Issued and Published Sequences (PSIPS)
Can be used for downloading gene sequences. Access is by document number and date.
Prior Art Databases

Major Databases that include Patents

Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder)
Helpful for chemical U.S. and international patents as well as journal articles, conference papers, etc. It is licensed for SBU users only.

Nexis Uni
Choose Patent in drop-down menu to search in TotalPatent One.

The Lens
Free global patent database; searchable in many languages. USPTO grants from 1976. Offers keyword and gene sequences. CPC, IPCR, and US Classifications. Updated frequently.

Patent & Trademark Resources on the Web

Librarian

Nearest Patent & Trademark Resource Center

U.S. Patent Office Search Databases

Specialized Patent Office Databases

Major Databases that include Patents

Library

Resources

Follow Us