Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
All books are located in the Main Reference Library in the Central Reading Room, unless otherwise indicated.
The Encyclopedia of American Prisons by
Call Number: Main Library Reference HV9471 .S54 2003
Publication Date: 2003
More than 300 entries cover famous and infamous prison wardens, prisoners, prisons, escapes, riots, fires, convict labor, prison society, reformers, and prison technology. Social issues related to prison life are also covered, including over-crowding, mistreatment of prisoners, and disease in prison. With more than 50 photographs and illustrations of the famous and infamous figures and prisons described in the text and a bibliography with recommended further reading.
Prisons in America: A Reference Handbook by
Call Number: Main Library Reference HV9471 .R36 1999
Publication Date: 1999
A handy source for basic statistics on prisoners, penal trends, and programs and services in America's prisons.
Female Offenders: An Annotated Bibliography by
Call Number: Main Library Reference HV6046 .O75
Publication Date: 1997
Many social scientists have ignored the diversity of the women's prison population and the differential treatment to which women of various backgrounds have been subjected. These omissions have affected the type of information available on women in the criminal justice system as it relates exclusively to gender. The goal of this work is to document women's unique and gender-biased experience as participants and victims of the criminal justice system. Topics include women on death row, race and gender issues, probation and parole, female juvenile delinquents, prostitution, health and mental health issues of women in prison, social justice concerns, and educational programs. The references included highlight the interdisciplinary nature of the issues as they cross such fields as law, criminal justice, social work, and psychology, and reveal the intensity of racism and sexism often ignored by the system, but confronted by the female population in the criminal justice system.
Historical corrections statistics in the United States, 1850-1984 by
Call Number: Main Library Reference HV7415 .C34 1987
Publication Date: 1987
A pocket guide to writing in history by
Call Number: D13 .R295 2007 and Main Library Stacks D13 .R295 2007
Bedford/St. Martin’s, c2007. 5th ed. Its concise yet comprehensive coverage of every step of the research and writing process--with detailed advice on documenting sources and avoiding plagiarism -- have made A Pocket Guide to Writing in History a best-seller over four editions. For the fifth edition, Mary Lynn Rampolla -- who is active in the fields of both history and composition -- provides more practical help with basic skills and new coverage of more sophisticated critical-thinking skills such as analyzing an assignment, reading critically, and constructing a strong argument. Organizational changes over several chapters make it even easier for students at all levels to find the information they need to succeed in their course, saving instructors valuable class time.
Online Reference Collections
American National Biography Online
Fulltext. Biographical entries more than 17,400 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the United States. Includes illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references, and links to select web sites.
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Updated regularly. Fulltext. Includes the Encyclopaedia Britannica, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Notable Quotations, and Gateway to the Classics, which provides PDF versions of selected classic texts.
Cambridge Histories Online
Date range varies. Full-Text. Over 300 volumes of the renowned Cambridge Histories series covering History; Economic History; History of Science (including Modern Biological and Earth Sciences and Modern Physical and Mathematical Sciences); Language and Linguistics; Law; Literary Studies; Music; Philosophy; Political and Social Theory; Religious Studies; Theatre Studies and Performing Arts; and Warfare. In addition to substantial sets on American, British and European History, the collection also contains major works on the Histories of Africa, Egypt, India, Iran, Japan, Latin America, Russia, Southeast Asia, Turkey and the 15-volume Cambridge History of China.
Collection of online encyclopedias and specialized reference sources covering a wide variety of topics and subjects, including current events, Arts & Humanities, Business, Education, Science, Social Sciences, and Religion.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Fulltext. Statistical information on American history, covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. New topics include American Indians, slavery, poverty, non-profit organizations, race and ethnicity.
Oxford English Dictionary
Current. A historical dictionary. The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. Traces the usage of words.
Current/Regularly updated. A fulltext reference collection that includes facts, figures, definitions, and translations from over 175 Oxford dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, guides, encyclopedias, and the "Oxford Companions" series.
NOTE: Titles with subscription/access have a green, open lock at end of each title; no subscription/access for ones with a red closed lock at end of each title.