It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIS 441: Dancing Through American History: ARTICLES & DATABASES
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.
Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
1955-present. Citations and abstracts. History of the world (excluding the U.S. & Canada) from 1450 to the present. Military history, women's history, and history of education. 1,700 academic journals in over 40 languages.
Fulltext and citations. Contains 1.2 million full-text dissertations, including most dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Includes 2.7 million citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day.
1972-present. Fulltext, citations and abstracts. Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases, covering the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship. Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, government reports, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
1827-1998. Full-text. Online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman's Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.
A Google tool that limits your search to scholarly, academic or peer-reviewed articles.
For maximum benefit when off-campus:
Click on Scholar Preferences
Type "Stony Brook" in the Library Links section search box
Check the box next to Stony Brook University - SUNY - Fulltext @ Stony Brook
Note: Google Scholar does NOT search all our databases.
1990s-present. Fulltext. A reference authority on all fields of music. Includes the Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online (New Grove Dictionary, New Grove Opera, and New Grove Jazz), and The Oxford Companion to Music.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive bibliography on writings about music featuring bibliographic citations, abstracts and indexes. It covers publications from around the world on traditional music, popular music, jazz, classical music, and related subjects. Its coverage of publications begins in the early 19th century and extends to the present.
Bibliographic records of music manuscripts written after 1600. The records include information in standard bibliographic categories as well as graphical images of over 780,000 music incipits.
An international, annotated bibliography, which aims to document the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory, and libretti. The most comprehensive annotated index and guide to music manuscripts produced after 1600 containing 585,559 records by over 20,500 composers from manuscripts found in over 750 libraries and archives in 31 countries.