Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are an increasing number of excellent web sites that have historic audio-visual material.
YouTube - Great resource for finding speeches and historic news items, as well as musical and cinematic trasures.
Internet Archive - Probably the best overall collection of audio-visual material that could be used for primary sources. The Archive currently contains almost 400,000 moving images and nearly 700,000 audio items, along with software and other material.
American Memory Motion Pictures - Sixteen different collections of motion pictures from the Library of Congress, including:
History.com - Web site from the History Channel. Covers numerous topics, with video and other media.
Primary Source Materials: Moving Images and Sound Recordings - An excellent guide to finding primary soruce material from the Media Resources Center at the University of California Berkeley.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
More than 1.2 million digitized images from the Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC), including photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
American Memory Photography & Print Collections
Sixty-six different collections, including Selected Civil War Photographs, 1861-1865; Chicago Daily News Photographs, 1902-1933; Edward S. Curtis's North American Indian Photographs, Ca. 1900; Daguerreotype Photographs, 1839-1864; William P. Gottlieb Photographs from the Golden Age of Jazz 1938-1948; and three collections on Women’s Suffrage, 1850-1938. Some overlap with the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
The Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Featured Web Sites
Bracero History Archive
The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.
Farmworker Movement Documentation Project
Primary source accounts by the United Farm Workers volunteers who built the movement. Includes extensive archives and documents, such as the Cesar Chavez Papers, and a Media section that contains Photos & Art; Music; and Videos.
Information Resources for U.S.-Mexico Migration Isssues (New Mexico State University)
A list of selected online resources for research and current awareness of U.S.-Mexico migration issues.
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
LANIC's editorially reviewed directories contain over 12,000 unique URLs, one of the largest guides for Latin American content on the Internet. Information can be found in English, Spanish and Portuguese and can be browsed by subject (history, education, science, etc.) or by country. The site hosts digital content on Latin America through its Etext Collection, including thousands of full text books, journals, speeches, and research papers. Included are the full text of over 2,000 speeches by Fidel Castro; over 75,000 pages of Presidential Messages from Argentina and Mexico; and hundreds of papers on Latin American topics presented at conferences around the world.
General History Websites
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Coverage varies. Free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. A digital record of American history and creativity. From the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions.
Making of America Project (Cornell)
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
Collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts. The main sourcebooks have primary documents for Ancient, Medieval, and Modern history. Other subsidiary sourcebooks include: African, East Asian, Global, Indian, Jewish, Islamic, Lesbian/Gay, Science, Women.
Voice of the Shuttle
Searchable database of websites for research in the Humanities; includes a large section of primary and secondary material about European History.
Best of History Web Sites
Best of History Web Sites contains annotated links to over 1200 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more.
Spotlight Web Site
Mexican Migration Project (MMP)
The MMP's main focus has been to gather social as well as economic information on Mexican-US migration. The data collected has been compiled in a comprehensive database that is available to the public free of charge for research and educational purposes. The MMP is a unique source of data that enables researchers to track patterns and processes of contemporary Mexican immigration to the United States. The project is a multi-disciplinary research effort that generates public use data on the characteristics and behavior of Mexican migrants.