Research & Subject Guides: Materials Science & Chemical Engineering: Patents

Nearest Patent & Trademark Resource Center

Long Island's only Patent & Trademark Resource Center (PTRC) was moved from the Stony Brook University Libraries to the Smithtown Public Library in the Fall of 2012. Community patrons are encouraged to seek assistance at the Smithtown Public Library PTRC.

Patent Databases

Espacenet : esp@cenet
esp@cenet from the European Patent Office permits searching of more than 60 million patents using limited fields, keywords, IPC, and ECLA from 82 countries. PDF format is available for many international patent documents. Here is the advanced web site: http://worldwide.espacenet.com/advancedSearch?locale=en_EP
PatentScope
(World Intellectual Property Office) database searches international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications
United States Patent and Trademark Office
The Federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks.

Major Databases that include Patents

SciFinder
Helpful for chemical U.S. and international patents as well as journal articles, conference papers, etc. It is licensed for SBU users only.
Nexis Uni
Choose Patent in drop-down menu to search in TotalPatent One.
Web of Science
Derwent Innovations Index (1963-present)
Combines unique value-added patent information indexed from over 50 patent issuing authorities in the Derwent World Patent Index (1963-present) with patent citations indexed from the Derwent Patents Citation Index (1973-present).
Search across clearly written patent titles and abstracts that highlight the novelty, use, advantage, and claims of each invention.
Search precisely using international patent classification codes or unique Derwent Class Codes.
Combines patents from multiple patent issuing authorities into a single patent family for easy and complete discovery of each invention.
Monitor an invention's influence by navigating patent citations.

Patent Lens
Free global patent database; searchable in many languages. Offers keyword and gene sequence searching for patents since 1976. Full-text is in PDF.

Search Tools

7 Step Guide to Searching U.S. Patents
Provided by United States Patent and Trademark Office and Patent and Trademark Depository Library Program.
United States Patent Classification
United States Patent Classification (USPC) tools uses three major hyperlinked resources: Index, Class Schedules (Manual of Classificaton) and Definitions
Examiner Handbook to the U.S. Patent Classification System
Gives a detailed view of the Classification System.
Coordinated Classification
Is the new patent systems that will be used by the United States and the European Patent Office. Other countries may also move to this system. It is being phased into use on U.S. databases and is now available on Espacenet.

International Classification

International Patent Classification
(IPC) is used in most countries of the world. The current version is 8th ed. This systems permits linking to various search websites. For example: esp@acenet
European Classification (ECLA)
Is used with esp@cenet and is based on a previous version of IPC.

Materials Science & Chemical Engineering

Nearest Patent & Trademark Resource Center

Patent Databases

Major Databases that include Patents

Search Tools

International Classification

Library

Resources

Follow Us