Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Collections
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Updated regularly. Fulltext. Includes the Encyclopaedia Britannica, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Notable Quotations, and Gateway to the Classics, which provides PDF versions of selected classic texts.
American National Biography Online
Fulltext. Biographical entries more than 17,400 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the United States. Includes illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references, and links to select web sites.
Collection of online encyclopedias and specialized reference sources covering a wide variety of topics and subjects, including current events, Arts & Humanities, Business, Education, Science, Social Sciences, and Religion.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Fulltext. Statistical information on American history, covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. New topics include American Indians, slavery, poverty, non-profit organizations, race and ethnicity.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Fulltext. An illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past.
Oxford English Dictionary
Current. A historical dictionary. The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. Traces the usage of words.
Oxford Reference Online
Search over 200 reference books from Oxford University Press, including:
All books are located in the Main Reference Library in the Central Reading Room, unless otherwise indicated.
The Source by
Call Number: Main Library Reference CS49 .S65 2006 - x
Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of North American Immigration by
Call Number: Main Library Reference JV6465 .P68 2005 - x
Publication Date: 2005
Facts about American Immigration by
Call Number: Main Library Reference JV6465 .B73 2001
Publication Date: 2002
A pocket guide to writing in history by
Call Number: D13 .R295 2007 and Main Library Stacks D13 .R295 2007
Bedford/St. Martin’s, c2007. 5th ed. Its concise yet comprehensive coverage of every step of the research and writing process--with detailed advice on documenting sources and avoiding plagiarism -- have made A Pocket Guide to Writing in History a best-seller over four editions. For the fifth edition, Mary Lynn Rampolla -- who is active in the fields of both history and composition -- provides more practical help with basic skills and new coverage of more sophisticated critical-thinking skills such as analyzing an assignment, reading critically, and constructing a strong argument. Organizational changes over several chapters make it even easier for students at all levels to find the information they need to succeed in their course, saving instructors valuable class time.