Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
When researching scientists at major educational institutions be sure to check the following:
- University Faculty Profile Pages
- Insitutional Repositories
- University Archives
- Academia.edu, Mendeley, Zotero, and other discipline specific social networking sites
Remember - if we don't have an article or a book at Stony Brook that you need, you can order it free of charge through our Interlibrary Loan service.
We will request a copy from another library.
Request an item or set up an account.
Note: Textbooks are not available through this service.
Databases for News Articles
Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
1990-present. Fulltext. Articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the United States. In English and Spanish.
Finding Profiles In Science Articles
When looking for the NYT's Profiles in Science articles in LexisNexis, use the Advanced Search option, limit the source to The New York Times, change the Section option to SECTION, and enter - profiles in science - as your search terms.
Sources Available in LexisNexis
To browse sources available in LexisNexis, select Sources, and then select Browse Sources. Options are available to filter and browse the sources list. You may also select Find Sources to search for specific sources.
These resources can help you find background information on controversial issues and articles from popular magazines like Time.
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext. Presents information on complex contemporary topics in a pro- and con- format.
Academic Search Complete
Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
A Google tool that limits your search to scholarly, academic or peer-reviewed articles. Available at scholar.google.com or from Google's More menu.
For maximum benefit:
- Click on the cog icon in the upper right
- Click on Scholar Preferences
- Type "Stony Brook" in the Library Links section search box
- Check the box next to Stony Brook University - SUNY - Fulltext @ Stony Brook
Note: Google Scholar does NOT search all our databases.