Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History Web Sites
This is a simple, initial list of web resources. Eventually, web resources will be available by Time Period, Region, and Topic. For an example, please see Web Resources listed on the Medieval History Subject Guide.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Coverage varies. Free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. A digital record of American history and creativity. From the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions.
Best of History Web Sites
Best of History Web Sites contains annotated links to over 1200 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more.
Making of America Project (Cornell)
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
History Matters (Center for History and New Media)
Among the many digital resources are lesson plans, syllabi, links, and exhibits. Designed for professional historians, high school teachers, and students of history.
Internet Library of Early Journals (ILEJ)
Digital collection from the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford. Searchable full text of several eighteenth and early nineteenth-century British publications.
EuroDocs: Western European Primary Historical Documents
Western European historical documents (mainly primary) that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries (and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history). The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.
The European Library
Search catalogues, digital collections, audio and printed music, images, manuscripts, maps, journals, children's literature, theses and dissertations from Europe's National Libraries.
Voice of the Shuttle
Searchable database of websites for research in the Humanities; includes a large section of primary and secondary material about European History.
European Libraries Online
List of European Libraries on the Web.
H-Net: Humanities and Social Sciences Online
H-Net is an international interdisciplinary organization of scholars and teachers dedicated to the enormous educational potential of the Internet and the World Wide Web.
Non-profit organization that publishes submissions of private, secret, and classified media from anonymous news sources, news leaks, and whistle-blowers.