Excerpted from Volume 1, Number 1 (Fall 1988)
“Welcome to the first issue of the Long Island Historical Journal, a publication devised to present Long Island as America. Our aim is to place the Island’s record within the framework of history, reflecting as well as contributing to the principal phases of national life. By "Long Island” we mean its four components - Nassau, Brooklyn, Suffolk, and Queens; our concept of “national life” traverses the great chain of experience from pre-colonial times to the present...We pledge to be erudite but readable, to clarify rather than chronicle, and to stimulate unbiased study of a region rich in background that has not received its due attention. All who think of Long Island as home are invited to subscribe to and participate in this new and needed publication.”
Kristen J. Nyitray
Director, Special Collections & University Archives
E-2320, Melville Library
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3323
The Long Island Historical Journal (LIHJ), now titled the Long Island History Journal, is a peer-reviewed, scholarly journal founded by Roger Wunderlich at Stony Brook University (SBU). Thirty-two issues were published in print format between 1988 and 2008 by the Department of History and the Center for Regional Policy Studies at SBU. In 2009, the title was changed to the Long Island History Journal and published in online-only format.
The journal contains substantive, original scholarship about the history of Long Island - Brooklyn, Queens, Nassau and Suffolk counties – set in a regional, national and global context. The LIHJ also features reviews of books and exhibitions.
SEARCH STRATEGIES (1988-2008)
The print edition of the LIHJ was digitized in May 2011. The files were uploaded to DSpace (State University of New York’s Digital Repository) and cataloged by Kristen J. Nyitray, Director, Special Collections and University Archives and University Archivist.
Several access points have been created to enhance discovery of the content published in the LIHJ between 1988 and 2008.
Search and browse results yield a list of the issues in which a word or phrase appears. The PDF(s) then need to be opened (select “view/open”) to access the content. Each issue is one PDF.
Keyword: the text of the LIHJ is keyword-searchable. Words and phrases can be entered in the search bar located at top, center of the webpage (“search within this collection”). Searches for specific phrases can be refined by placing quotes around the text.
Author: the author index can also be accessed from the DSpace website by clicking on “Browse by: Authors” located at the top, center of the webpage or on the left side menu bar under “Browse – This Collection – Authors”
Subject Headings: Library of Congress subject headings have been assigned to the featured articles. The index can also be accessed by clicking on “Browse by: Subjects” located at the top, center of the webpage or on the left side menu bar under “Browse – This Collection -- Subjects”
Table of Contents: a master list of the contents for each issue has been compiled. It will appear as the first result after clicking on “Browse by: Titles” located at the top, center of the webpage or on the left side menu bar under “Browse – This Collection – Titles”