Research & Subject Guides: Public Health: Databases

Databases for Public Health

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Date coverage varies. Citations and fulltext. Covers the nursing and allied health literature, providing fulltext for more than 620 journals.
ClinicalTrials.gov
Provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
Cochrane Library
1999-present. This collection of databases contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
Embase
Embase is a crucial resource for discovering biomedical evidence within published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts. An essential database for systematic reviews.

HCUP-US Databases
The HCUP family of administrative longitudinal databases contains encounter-level information on inpatient stays, emergency department visits, and ambulatory surgery in U.S. hospitals. These databases are created by AHRQ through a Federal-State-Industry partnership. HCUP's National (Nationwide) databases can be used to identify, track, and analyze national trends in health care utilization, access, charges, quality, and outcomes.

Nexis Uni
Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
PsycARTICLES
Date coverage varies, mostly 1985-present. Fulltext, citations and abstracts. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology in areas including animal behavior, cognition, memory, neuroscience, perception, physiological psychology, psycholinguistics, psychometrics, social and personality psychology.
PubMed
Search biomedical literature from 1950- present. Includes MEDLINE and other resources. Includes links to full-text articles when available.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
1972- present. Search citations and abstracts from 750 periodicals with 510 peer reviewed publications. Over 300 full text articles available from 1972 to the present.. Covers many topics in the social sciences such as anthropology, economics, ethics, gender studies, psychology and political science.
Web of Science
(Note: does not currently support Internet Explorer 9.) Includes SCIENCE CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1900 - present ), SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1956 - present), and ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX (1975 - present). All subjects are covered. Indexes articles from almost 10,000 journals as well as the citations in the articles indexed. Recent years include abstracts.

Public Health

Databases for Public Health

Library

Resources

Follow Us